Kathmandu - love it!


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamal
September 28th 2005
Published: September 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Thanks to everyone who saw me off at the airport. Arrived in Kathmandu after a slight detour to Melboure and here I was paying missy out about here flight. Finally left Melbourne at 12.30am to Bangkok. The Melbourne AFL team were on the flight, holidaying in Bangkok as a end of season footy trip.

Kathmandu is, what can I say, very interesting. Felt like I was the only person with blonde hair on the flight, so I felt like a target walking from the gates with everyone waiting to pull me into their cab. I managed to shoo them away and found my tour man. I still had teenagers helping we with my bag, who I thought were with the tour. Yes they wanted my money. The tour guides don't say anything to them either, which I thought they would.

The protest are pretty full on over here, went past one coming from the airport and felt like I was in a fish bowl, army boys with machine guns staring into the little heap of s@#t I was travelling in.

Thamal is a pretty cool place, heaps of little jewellery stores, have already bought a couple of things. Funny how little you squabble over when the currency is so low. Most of the Nepalese people are nice and Im loving being here. Atmosphere plus, no road rules, smells of curry and inscence in the air, prayer music, wooden flutes, car horns and bells. There are car horns because there are no road rules. When they want to over take they press there horn and head for on coming traffic hoping for the best. It's quite exciting. It's really hot too, 30 degrees. Cant wait to venture more.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb