Day #12 - Dingboche Acclimitisation Walk - Chhukhung and return


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Dingboche
November 27th 2012
Published: December 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

We arrived at Chhukhung around 1130 and rested for an hour in the warmth of the teahouse, with superb panaromic views of Nuptse and the Lhotse mountains around us.

It was time to descend back down to Dingboche, and within a few minutes I began to develop shooting pains in my left knee. With increased use of the trekking poles to take the weight off my knee, I desceneded slowly. Whilst I was the first to arrive at Chhukhung village on the ascent, I was the last to arrive back down to the lodge in Dingboche during the descent, limping painfully into the courtyard of the lodge, past the black unconcerned horse occupying most of it, and up the stairs to my room.

Following an anti-inflammotry tablet ("magic pink"), some rest and lots of water, the pain had subsided and everything seemed to be OK again. At this point in time I had no doubts I would make it to Kala Pattar and EBC, but doubts of getting back to Lukla with my knackered knees were now creeping in.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0915s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb