Royal Chitwan National Park


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Chitwan
July 31st 2008
Published: July 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Saturday, August 4, 2007 at 6:12am

So, have taken a brief respite from being weed on, climbed on, and drawn on, to visit Nepal at its best- I am in Soura, I spent the night with a very nice Nepali man named Ramesh... don't worry, I am not cheating- he is only 13 and is the eldest boy at the orphan home. He had never been to the national park before, and also never stayed in a hotel, so he is really pleased to be here- and I am glad of the Nepali translater!

So this place has completely blown me away... unfortunately did not get to see the famous Asian 1 horned rhino.. but I did get to ride an elephant, and see the elephant babies! So cool. Also, we took a trip down rapti river in a real wooden dugout canoe, and I narrowly escaped being eaten by a crocodile! Ok, well, I just saw a crocodile's head poking out of the water, but you know my tendency to exaggerate!

Watching the sun set over the jungle, to the sound of your local friendly elephant trumpeting, was probably the most amazing experience of my life thus far... I wouldn't swap that moment for anything....


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb