Annapurna Circuit Trek Day 4


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Annapurna » Annapurna Circuit
April 16th 2014
Published: May 2nd 2020
Edit Blog Post









On day four I trekked from Danaque to Chame. As soon as I'd reached Chame, I lost interest in the trek and decided to head back to Danaque the next day and hang out with the Tibetan family that hosted me, for a bit longer. Originally, I'd wanted to return because of the girl, but then I lost all expectations. Maybe things would have gone differently had I trek with a partner, but then it would be about someone else motivating me and not me pushing myself. One thing that I'd learned from this trek is that when you lose interest in something, then its time to do something else. I'm not going to lie and say I don't feel like a quitter, but I am going to accept the fact that this is where I am at, at the moment. I am proud that I gave it a try and went this far. There is no shame in walking away from something when your heart is not in it....


















"Leaving Manasulu Guesthouse was one
Tibetan Family I Stay withTibetan Family I Stay withTibetan Family I Stay with

I really thought that I was going to come back and marry this girl...I wonder where she is and who she's with right now..
of the hardest things I've done on this trip...I find myself looking back and contemplating whether or not to head back for one more night. My weak mind is doing whatever it could to find comfort, but I know that my mind can be deceptive when it is seeking comfort. Who knows, that girl could have a boyfriend. I was simply smitten by their warmth and hospitality. It was the warmth of what I once had...The urge to medicate the loneliness...I told them I'd come back. In my mind I'd say I'd come back to marry the girl, if she was still single...But who am I fooling...? I know that I won't be back...So I look straight ahead on this lonely road and move forward to my next destination...."
Journal Entry: 04.15.2014

"And so things turned out how I'd never expected it to. This family is just like all other poor people in Nepal or the world. They try to milk the most of your generosity. Kind of like what I was doing to them. I was trying to find a family's love. They were trying to survive. They were not discrete at all in asking for help in sponsorship. Ultimately, this all came down to money. It is what it is. Lesson learned. I guess that's how it is when you travel as an American. The world see you as a walking bank. It is what it is. It is understandable. When survival is a concern, human bond and compassion goes out the window. They are a polite family. I'll admit that. I'm just disappointed when others tried to capitalize on your kindness, but we all do it. Its human nature."
Journal Entry: 04.17.2014




Additional photos below
Photos: 50, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0735s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb