Day 46: Coming off the mountain


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Annapurna » Annapurna Circuit
December 21st 2018
Published: January 15th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Woke up today still feeling pretty sick. Raj gave me three options: stay put for a day and hope I feel better tomorrow, take the public bus back to the city (2 hours on rock filled roads, with potholes large enough to put a person in, and lots of jostles/turns), or hike out. Since staying in the room felt like a cell and not having control of when to get off the bus both felt like death, hike out was all that remained. We packed up and were on the trail by 8:30. The majority of today was downhil again which did numbers on my belly. The meds helped, but after 45 minutes, I really felt the lack of food in my system and my pace slowed way down as Raj sprang down the hill and Shelby was stuck in middle land of keeping track of where we were going and where I was. Thankfully, with a few shouts and whistles, Shelby got me down to the river and we only had to follow the road back to town. We actually made good time because we refused to stop for snacks or lunch. We were back in Pokhara by 4 PM and I was asleep by 4:15. Hiking our was definitely the right choice for today because the car was painful trying to brace my insides for an hour and 20 minutes on our way back to Pokhora. After napping, Shelby returned with several stronger pharmacy recommendations for me. It is weird though because everything she brought back would have needed a script in the states for and she didn’t have to buy a box of meds just whatever she wanted. I was ecstatic to have something to make me feel better and after a little research...thanks internet...we think the correct med was selected.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb