Ub and 1 week so far abroad


Advertisement
Mongolia's flag
Asia » Mongolia » Ulaanbaatar
July 12th 2006
Published: July 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

On the way to the Mongolian Capital of Ulan Batoor (which I'm told is named after the mongolian equivalent of a laso on the end of a stick) we stop in a small town to pick up some extra pasengers. As I write this I hear my next door train compartment neighbor singing a bad rendishon of the beatles let it be.

After finally arriving in UB I am amazed to find that my hastily sent email was recieved and the friendly counterpart of UB guesthouse was meeting me with a big sign, my name spelt properly for once. Things get better and better as after I get the last free bed in what appears to be the bustling city the manager gives me a free ticket to the nadaan festivities. After traveling on foot to the main stadium and exchanging a few RMB I sit and watcht the wrestling competition, not the most exciting sport as some matches go for four hours and usually just end in one opponent landing on his ass. Though had an interesting conversation with an art teacher who now lays railroad tracks because of the poor economic conditions.

Off in the distance from the stadium one can see the monument on the hills south of UB for the WWII dead so figure its a logical destination for my afternoon. Heading in a straight line from the stadium, after traversing the archery shooting grounds...which arn't clearly marked by the way, I am in pasture land with herds of sheep wandering past. Soon the pasture land turns to shrubery forest and further on into swamp. Traversing some shallow rivers it becomes evident that UB has a major river on its south side and I am a couple km away from the nearest bridge. Sloshing my way back through the swamp I was happy to remember of how I had opted out on that malaria medication.

Hearing some singing I stumble directly into a mongolian family in a singing circle with a clear evidence how vodka and family gatherings should not mix. Without a word of mongolian or a phrasebook it was onto singing competitions, drinking vodka and discussing tattoos. I am quite positive that a few more mongolians now believe that canadians are horrible singers, if Celine Dion has not already convinced the world. Stumbling away half a bottle of Chenghis Khan vodka later I finally found my preciouse bridge.

Past the golden Budha, straight after the korean memorial park and taking a right at the antique tank I am at the base of the giant monument to russian and mongolian soldiers lost in WWII. Definately worth the visit with a great view of the city and some interesting soviet style art on the monument itself. Also behing the actual monument one can find one of the many prayer mounds found in mongolia, three times around bringing good luck to one's journey. After this nothing else exciting happens except meeting tom and sophia and some others for a planned trip somewhere in mongolia. This is of course followed by many drinks in a local bar called Dave's Place, myself turning in early leaving Tom to fend of the local hippy babes.

Advertisement



27th July 2006

Way to go,Phil!!!!!
Hi Phil! We are waiting anxiously for every new entry,so cool! Let Angels watch over you on your journey whereever you go! xoxoxo Petra,alex and Willow

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.06s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb