A wonderful HOT day


Advertisement
Mongolia's flag
Asia » Mongolia » Ulaanbaatar
April 17th 2008
Published: April 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The wall next to my workThe wall next to my workThe wall next to my work

It looks like community development plans but I don't know what it says. A cool way to display it for the public though: painted on a wall.
So today was a good time. Had lunch with some co-workers which was interesting and a good chance to get to know them a little better. Then I struck out early and went to Sukhbaatar Square and it was quite impressive. It's a good size square to begin with and its surrounded by a lot of good looking and interesting buildings. I couldn't seem to find the museums I was looking for though I have a sneaking suspicion I was standing right in front of them. So I allowed myself to wander a bit and found an art exhibit which was nice enough and then I hit the mother lode. Found a museum with a temples and lots and lots of art and artifacts. It was $1 to get in and $5 to take pictures but I took a LOT of pictures. Too much to post here though I'll add a couple. I also discovered that there is a large picture of Chinggis Khan etched on a mountainside so I tried to take a picture but I was much too far away. Note to self: find it and take better pictures.

I walked around for a total of three hours
KidsKidsKids

Some kids enjoying motorized scooters in front of the Lenin museum.
out in the blazing hot sun. It was also very dry but I had a fantastic time. Then I went to catch a cab and rode for a few blocks before telling him to stop. I found a music store!! Remembering Carl had asked me to find Mongolian hip hop I went into this place and it was... cool! They were BLASTING the white stripes when I walked in and for a moment I felt at home. I browsed a bit and found the hip-hop section. Oh...my....God.... It is actually hysterical. i picked up the most hilarious of them all (rappers wearing dark bad ass sunglasses and clad in traditional Mongolian armor.) So I picked it up for less than $4 and proceeded to drag myself home. By the time I got home I was pretty spent. I remembered that the organization was going out for basketball and tennis and I really wanted to go... but I was tired and achy from my long exposure to the sun.

Note: that may not sound like a lot of sun to ya'll but considering I just spent 3 months in the NW and getting rained on, it was a LOT to
Sukhbaatar SquareSukhbaatar SquareSukhbaatar Square

This was on the way to the Square.
me. Plus I'm very white and so yeah. I should probably pick up sunscreen at some point but I did not burn today.

So got home and Gala showed up and showed me how to work the washer half (you have to hook it up to the sink.) I still have no idea how to work the spin side though he should be back tomorrow to fix my door for reals and I'll ask him. It's cool cause Gala speaks no English except “hi” and “bye” but i just really dig him. He strikes me as someone's really good dad and it was comforting to have him over fixing my door and showing me how to work the washer. He's very under-stated but we communicate very well considering neither of us speak each other's language.

And then I remembered I had brought my mp3 player!!! So I'm listening to some tunes and feeling pretty good about the day. I'm majorly bummed that I forgot my mp3 player's USB connection so i really have no way to charge it when it dies. But I might be able to pick one up around here if they carry this particular brand.
The mighty RAMThe mighty RAMThe mighty RAM

Reminds me of my ram at home :-)
It was really nostalgic being inside that brightly colored music store with familiar tunes blowing out my ears. I'll have to go back even though I have nothing to play CDs on. Ah well. BTW, traditional Mongolian wheat noodles are awesome. I think I'll bring some home.


Ah i take it back... i was sitting here thinking “hmm, I'm really warm” and went and looked in the mirror. Yep! My whiteness got a little toasted. Heh.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

CoolCool
Cool

Also on the way to the square. All the statue inscriptions are in Mongolian which is too bad. I often wonder who these people are.
Modern ArtModern Art
Modern Art

Some modern art. A man trapped in a cube.
Chinggis KhanChinggis Khan
Chinggis Khan

His memorial in Sukhbaatar Square. Very beautiful.
Stone carvingsStone carvings
Stone carvings

Outside of the temple museum.
Learning English!!Learning English!!
Learning English!!

An advertisement for an English newspaper in UB. This made me laugh :-)


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb