I've arrived in Pinang, Malaysia


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia
April 10th 2008
Published: June 21st 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 5.36904, 100.264

Pinang is a small island, and so is really a great example of small island life in Malaysia.

It was colonialized, so the main square has all these great colonial administrative buildings in it. There are also a lot of colonial buildings that weren't kept up, it a pretty interesting sight as well.

I stayed in a hostel in China Town that was an old colonial house. It was a really nice place. I rented a scooter for the four days I was on the island and got to really see a lot of it. The beaches of the north side became a daily visit for me. I met a nice British fellow who spends a few months a year on Penang, and he showed me around up in the hill towns. There were some really cool remote fishing villages he'd discovered up in the hills away from the beach. Not that anything is far from the beach in Penang. Driving a motorbike through the hills was really exhilarating! At one point some rain showers passed and it got even better, who knew rain drops could hurt so much when they whip against your throat? Good thing no one could hear me, I was laughing hysterically at the thought of what was happening. A highlight of Penang for sure.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

l -A Buddhist Temple I visitedl -A Buddhist Temple I visited
l -A Buddhist Temple I visited

Are these not the biggest incense sticks you've ever seen!?!


Tot: 0.274s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb