First stopover - Malaysia


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia
April 11th 2006
Published: July 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post


After a hectic week of moving stuff back to parents house for storage, sell my car, put apartment for rental, last catchups/pissup with friends, deciding what to bring along with me for the next 2 months in China. (It was really hard with hangovers)

Time has finally arrived for me to bid farewell to NZ for the time being. Leave the comforts of my usual surroundings for the last 15.5 years and embark on a new challenge.

I arrived in Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia) without too much hassle. Got Mum a ticket to come back to Malaysia for a holiday as well. So Dad was there at KLIA to pick us up and within a couple of hours we are in Kluang in Johor. My parents' home town in Malaysia where my Dad still lives at.

Spent a day chilling in Kluang feasting on Assam curry fish head, beef noodles. Sorry no pictures I finished the food before remembering to take some pics. Good food comes first before the brain engages. Maybe its the new crewcut I got. Decided to get a number one for ease of maintenance while I'm backpacking on the road. (plus shampoo weighs just too much) I'm thinking every gram I can shave off, my back will thank me for it.

12th April
Making my way down to Singapore to join a Uni classmate, Chhay, for a planned dive trip over the Easter break.

On my way, I stopped off in Johor Bahru and visited some relatives. Again had heaps of food with my relatives. I think FOOD will feature alot in my travel around parts of Asia.

Also tried to catch up with some old primary and secondary schoolmates. However due to every1's busy schedue, only managed to get hold of Sharon. Had a good little catch up with her. Apologies if I can't make your wedding, I'll see how long I get 'stuck' in Asia. Sharon: I had to pinch your photo. I think we scared the waiter too much, he must be shivering. Mine was even more blurry.

Stayed at my Aunty's over night. Off over the border to Singapore tomorrow.
And then back again to head to a Malaysian island (Pulau Aur) off the East coast with the dive tour. Maybe I should stay at the border to wait for the van.






Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Dad's NeighboursDad's Neighbours
Dad's Neighbours

M'sia Terrace Housing Style
Aunty's Shop Aunty's Shop
Aunty's Shop

In Kulai, Johor
Old classmateOld classmate
Old classmate

Oops I mean young Sharon.


Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb