Malaysian Heat


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia
March 30th 2006
Published: April 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Our first port of call was Singapore which is even more westernised than Hong Kong and very easy to get around. This was a welcome relief from trying to guess what the street signs meant! Singapore is nice but nothing to write home about unless you are staying in 5 star luxury which we definitely didn't do, although we did have a great meal in the Indian quarter at a restaurant called Banana Leaf...best chicken vindaloo I've ever had!

After a couple of days we took the bus to Kuala Lumpur which is also a very modern city. The scenic highlight has to be the Twin Towers, which do look like something out of the latest science fiction movie! While in KL we also met up with our neighbours' parents who very kindly invited us over for a very yummy traditional Chinese meal (Thanks to Kevin's Parents and Good Luck with the Moving!).

We then went on to Penang, visited the old fort in Georgetown and stayed opposite the beach in Batu Ferengi for a couple of days. Unfortunately it rained quite a bit! Next we travelled to Tamara Negara (The oldest jungle in the world - apparently) and spent a couple of days with nature. We did the "Longest" canopy walk in the world (like "I'm a celebrity get me out of here"). What surprised me though was that Mel (Usually the daring one) shat herself the whole way through...usually a sign of getting old! Then we did something which wasn't quite a river ride and not exactly white water rafting but something in between...suffice to say we got very wet. At one point the guide suggested we have a swim around (we might as well have) however the water was more like a mud bath so we declined! When we got back to the hostel I actually found a leach on my leg which had grown to about half the size of my thumb! After I burned it off with a lighter, my leg didn't stop bleeding for 2 hours.

The funniest thing was when Mel made me check her body and I told her to get the lighter quick! She started screaming uncontrollably until I managed to convince her that I had lied. Cruel I know but I couldn't resist.

After the Jungle we went back to Kuala Lumpur to catch our flight to Cambodia...See you there!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb