Qualifying


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia
April 4th 2009
Published: April 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well ,today! I was thinking last night about dragging myself around KL again today then it dawned on me that my grand prix ticket was for all 3 days!

I first went for a chicken noodle soup for breakfast/lunch, then for a massage before the trip to the circuit.

The trip involves, the monorail for 4 stops to KL central then a half hour fast train to the airport and then a 10 minute coach trip to the circuit.

Well, when I turned up I first had to pick up my ticket which took 10 seconds, then straight in the main entrance into the hooypaloy of ferarri, bmw, mercedes, blasting music.

I found the gate to go into, the premium one! Straight into the middle of the circuit with the grandstands on either side. Past the autograph collecting bit (only for premium ticket holders) and had just missed THe BUTT ONby half an hour.

It was so hot you wouldn't believe it. I headed straight for refreshments and suddenly there was this incredible roaring of engines. How can they be so loud? Thank goodness i took ear plugs as recommended by someone where i am staying. I found my 'Garnet' entrance and walked down to be greeted by the track, right there in front of me, with the end of the pit lane opposite me. Then I spotted, Lewis, then Kimi then Jenson and all of them speeding past but just there. To my left the start finish line, them all bombing over it and some who realised they didn't have a good lap diving into the pit lane. The cars are so beautiful. It sounds silly but my god they are.

First qualifying session, Massa out then the second, Lewis out - he didn't look too happy. Then the final session and Jenson did it again, pole. It was only over an hour but it was great. Where I am sitting, the starting grid positions are directly in front of me so i reckon starting 13th, Lewis should be parked right in front of me tomorrow - photo opps.

Made my way out taking photos, past the stage where the post race party is going to be tomorrow - Jamirqui is playing!!!

I read before leaving today that all the other teams said the only thing to stop Brawn being pole would be rain - no sooner had i left the circuit - an almighty thunder and lightning storm started that lasted til i got back into KL which took nearly 3 hours. So am all prepared for tomorrow.

Some people from here are going tomorrow so may tag along with them. Going to get there in plenty of time for the drivers parade and all the fancy stuff before the race starts at 5pm tomorrow.

What a great day - I am so glad I have done it. Had some food when I go back with a beer and some footer.

Well, that's it for now, going to bed now - saying that, an incredible fireworks display is going on outside.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb