An active day


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia
August 31st 2007
Published: September 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

1. Slept in for the entire morning.
2. Woke up to find that the girls’ friends Charlotte and Amanda from back home had come to visit.
3. Got the bus into town with the girls and David.
4. Walked to the monorail station and took a ride to Chinatown. The monorail was tiny and very packed but afforded wonderful views of town (well, it would have done if my view hadn’t have been blocked by a rather overweight Malaysian woman. She was lovely though, and taught me how to say “excuse me” in Malay. Not that I can remember now…)
5. We were all presented with little Malaysian flags by people walking around in white jumpsuits in honour of Independence Day. Much overenthusiastic waving ensued.
6. Wandered around Chinatown. Stalked by an Arab man for a while. He asked me what my name was and insisted on shaking my hand, which he converted into a hand-kiss. Sneaky.
7. Bought some fake Gucci glasses for 15 Ringitt (just over £2). The trader originally asked for 85R, but being the master haggler that I am I soon brought his price down.
8. Ate a very substandard lunch at a Reggae themed English backpacker bar in the Chinese district of Kuala Lumpur. Talk about novelty value!
9. Made our way back to KLCC on the metro - we managed all 3 forms of transport today, so we rather proud of ourselves.
10. Watched the beautiful fountain outside KLCC and chatted about Christianity with David before returning home.
11. Complained loudly about my various mosquito bites.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb