The rest of Australia


Advertisement
Published: June 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

One day in Byron I did a bit of body surfing in the day and then walked up to the lighthouse for the sunset that evening which was amazing! From the lighthouse we saw about 8 whales and at one point 4 dolphins swimming with a whale.
The next day I went for a bit of a surf in the afternoon, the surf was really small but the amazing thing is, however small the waves were they still barrel. Went out for my last night in Byron that night which was a good laugh.
The next morning I caught a bus up to Surfers Paradise to meet my mate Craig from back home which was pretty sweet. Had a few amazing nights out there and chilled out on the beach for a fair bit. I liked the nightlife here and the beach was ok if you walked up it for quite a while but in front of the city I wasn’t a big fan because the buildings block out the sun at different points during the day.
On the Monday I caught a bus up to Brisbane. I had a couple of days just wandering around the city. One day me and a guy I met went for a of the XXXX brewery which was pretty interesting. Especially interesting was the 5 free beers at the end of the tour. I found Brisbane a bit boring. Not as much of a tourist city as Sydney and Melbourne but still had a pretty good feel to it. On the Wednesday I met up with my mate Joe from back home who had just flown in from Japan. It was great seeing him as I hadn’t seen him for about 8 months.
The next day me and Joe headed up to Noosa for a day. We went out for a few beers that night which turned into a few too many beers but was good fun. We stayed at an amazing hostel in Noosa, where we got two pillows, amazing! Noosa was such a nice town, it had an amazing beach and was just really chilled out, I wish we could of stayed longer.
We were back on the bus again, heading up to Hervey Bay. We had a day here then decided to head North again. Hervey Bay was really nice but not much going on there really, most people just go there to do a trip to Fraser Island, which is a huge sand island but unfortunately we didn’t have enough time or money to do a tour.
The next day we headed to Agnes Water, and it rained all day, so a good bus day. The next day we went for a wander around Agnes Water and the tiny town down the road called 1770. Both really really nice towns with amazing beaches, not a great deal going on but that was why it was nice really. In the afternoon we went body surfing which was amazing!
That evening I said goodbye to Joe and got on the bus for the 20 hour ride all the way up to Cairns. I really wanted to stop at places on the way but if I’d done that I would of hardly had any time with Joe. Apart from the sleeping I didn’t really mind the bus journey because I just read a book then watched a couple of films on my laptop.
The day after I got to Cairns I went out on a day trip to the Great Barrier reef. I went on a lovely old 50ft Schooner sailing boat. I went snorkelling on the reef and saw so many fish, and loads of weird and wonderful coral. We even saw a reef shark, luckily they don’t attack people! We had lunch on the boat and then went over to Green Island, a coral Island on the reef. While I was there I went to the crocodile park on the island. The size of the crocs was incredible. They had one croc there which is one of the biggest in captivity. It was 5.5m! I was glad there was a big fence in between us, it doesn’t stop them from eyeing you up though. I then went back to the boat and went and did some more snorkelling on the reef. On the way back we saw three turtles swimming around the boat! On the way back we got the sails up and sailed all the way back at around 8 knots which was so good to sail again, definitely worth paying extra for.
I’m now in Kuala Lumpur after a couple of days in Singapore and am slowly getting used to the extreme humidity!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb