Kuala Lumpa. No Koalas.


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur » China Town
August 8th 2010
Published: August 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

High tech...High tech...High tech...

The lock on me door....
Well Kuala Lumpa and me didn't get off to the best start. After flying in early in the morning and feeling utterly terrible and full of cold, I then had to queue up for an hour and a half (falling asleep on my bags on the trolley) for Air Asia to print out a flipping voucher for my transfer into town...cue a lovely hour and a half bus journey with a small child kicking the back of my chair. Seriously I could have thrown him out of the window. Annoying little shit.

Found 'The Bird Nest' Guest house as recommended by Dani and fortunately they had one room left. It was tiny - if I did a star shape I could touch every wall. But I felt so rough I just wanted to lay down and sleep so I took it. 15 minutes later I can feel the walls shaking as a huge storm starts. Was fab as we were on the top floor so could hear it all and hear the rain on the roof... this was great until I was just drifting off and started to feel a drip, drip, drip on my head. Ah yes, a lovely
Ooh towers...Ooh towers...Ooh towers...

Took some pretty pictures...then talked to an old dude who worked in the tower..who then asked if he could kiss me. EWWWWWW.
leak and water was streaming down the walls... the guy came and moved me bed down and few feet, I moved my bags down the room and I passed out.


Leaving KL..........

Well decided to head south from KL - sooo much harder to book things here than in Vietnam or Cambodia!! Got a shuttle bus to the main bus station - which is very random and like a big marquee...you then get approached by about 20 different people all trying to get you to use their company...there was a bus in half an hour (woo) for 12 ringetts (Just over 2 quid. Woo woo) so I grabbed some munchies and headed to find the bus I was due to be on. The bus driver was sooooo rude and just kept shouting at me. Think he was trying to say I should take my rucksack on the bus (rather then him put it in the luggage hold) but instead he just kept waving his arms around and shouting 'GET UP GET UP!' over and over. The bus didn't even leave for 15 minutes so not quite sure why he was so arsey but oh well...

Anyways
A nice poo restuarant.A nice poo restuarant.A nice poo restuarant.

The t-bowl chain where you sit on a toilet to eat. Lovely.
- ate my munchies, fell asleep, stood up when the bus stopped and then he started screaming at me this time to get off. Seriously I would have liked to punch him in the face...or at least to a patronising pat on the head with a 'shhhh'. I sooooo should have done. Hmm so I get off the bus and he shouts that I need to get another bus as we're not actually in Malaka. Meh!

I wandered across the road and tried to figure out where the hell I was. It's a rather cute little town...(called Masjid Tanah) people generally smiled and looked a bit confused why there was a white woman wandering around with a mahhoosive backpack...but there were loads of cats and kittens on the high street so I found me a spot on the floor and got some cuddles (and hoped I would not get rabies as well.)

Fortunately some nice guys stopped and talked to me and checked I was OK, which made me feel lots better. Wandered back to the bus station and a shouty taxi driver then started up. Joy. Shouting that there is no more buses today and that he
Petaling StreetPetaling StreetPetaling Street

Chinatown.............
would take me to Malaka for 40 Ringetts (about 8 quid) and just kept beckoning me to follow him...he then made the mistake of laughing to his mates telling them how much he was charging me, got in his taxi and then I reaaaaaaaaaaally enjoyed walking straight past his taxi and across the road to this internet cafe. I don't care if I shot myself in the foot slightly, it was worth it to annoy him.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Masjid_Tanah

Half tempted to stay here the night as it is a cute little town and I have no-where booked in Malaka for tonight anyways. Hmmm.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

MMM Yummy.....MMM Yummy.....
MMM Yummy.....

Yummy chicken feet and noodles.


Tot: 0.2s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0938s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb