The Itchy and Scratchy show...


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur » Bukit Bintang
October 27th 2011
Published: October 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So, last night turned out to be a little bit eventful. Why? Because I pulled back the bedsheets to find a fat, crawling, blood-sucking bed bug, that's why. So, at midnight, I found myself picking up my suitcase and heading for the exit. I know I'm not the best of backpackers - glampacking is far more my scene and, having done so much solo business travel in the past, being by myself and not meeting fellow travellers is a small price to pay when you're staying in a luxury hotel. However I've got to draw the line at having blood drained from my already-pickled-with-mozzy-bites legs by this little critter.

The man on reception was shocked, sympathetic and showed me to another room - this time an en-suite garden apartment. I didn't want to stay a minute longer to be honest but humoured him. The room he showed me was huge and gorgeous - sliding doors onto the garden, two beautiful big beds, a lovely bathroom. Oh, and when I pulled back the sheets, another effing bug was lying there. Admittedly this little critter was dead, but I'd had enough - so a quick blast on the laptop and I'm booked into 4 star heaven up the road. So off into the Kuala Lumpur night I go, lugging my case behind me, and annoyed that I've got to go back to the bug den tomorrow for my refund, as the manager is asleep (how dare he be, at 1am in the morning!!).

Fortunately I was picked up by a taxi. Unfortunately, the driver had no idea whatsoever where this 433 bedroom, enormous glowing yellow hotel was. This was almost the final straw, until I reminded myself that no taxi driver that I've met so far in Asia has a clue where anything is, other than places they've been to before. Cue an hour - yes, a whole hour, of him driving around, up and down the streets, jumping out to ask people where he was going. Eventually, he managed to navigate to the giant yellow hotel - on the main road that no doubt he drives past every day - very apologetic, but insistent I pay the full price of driving around for the hour. £3. I was in no mood to argue to be fair - a bed and a shower in disinfectant was all I wanted.

I wanted luxury and this is what I got - a stunning 13th floor room, with the most comfy beds I've had since coming away. And a pool. And breakfast included. Happy days.

Time for a quick snooze and then I tackled the breakfast bar. A little bit western, a lot more Asian which I was pleased about. Nothing like a bit of vegetable daal for breakfast in my opinion. I headed to Times Square (not the one you're thinking of, just around the corner!), where an enormous shopping mall waited for me. A quick nosy and I was done - all the walking and no sleep last night has wiped me out so I'm going to have a lazy day by the pool. It's a shame because I had things on my to-do list today but I'm absolutely shattered.

The rain then put pay to any dreams of topping up my tan and I retired to bed. Promptly slept for 7 hours, and still need more sleep now. A bit run down, probably after 2 weeks of very interrupted sleep on account of the hacking cough I brought over from England. However today I've not coughed once - hurrah! - so time to start sleeping properly again.

I've liked Malaysia, although I'm not convinced it's strictly 'Truly Asia' from the little I've seen. I'd definitely like to come back to see more of the country - again, I'm disappointed I haven't had the chance but now I've got a taste for Asia (apart from the weird popcorn and fried pea snack things, those I won't miss!), I won't be so nervous about spending more time here next time.

Flying to Singapore tomorrow - was going to get the train but it's 7 whole hours long and I want to get there in daylight as it's the first time there. An ex-colleague of Dad is very kindly letting me stay in his apartment for the next few days before, like Dorothy, I head to Oz. Thanks Anver - I promise I'm a very neat house guest (just don't listen to anything my Mum says on the subject, OK?!)


Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb