Happy St. Patricks Day


Advertisement
Published: March 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

This morning I'd planned to get up early to do the Batu caves at sunrise. I took it under advisement from the girls at reception that the best time to go was after 8.30am because the children would have got to school by then and the buses would be quiet. They joked that no-one had been at that time in the morning, but if I was to go then they wanted photos! So I settled for a later start and got the bus at 9.30am so i would miss the heat of the midday sun.

The girls had been right, the bus was quiet, with no more than three or four people other than myself on the bus at any one time. The ride was interesting as the seat I'd chosen wasn't fully attached to the floor, so as the traffic grew our sudden stops almost threw me over the seat in front. There was however a television screen at either end of the bus playing music videos. Looking around at the graffiti free bus this was obviously the best way to keep teenagers entertained...something we might try at home! Half-an-hour or so later we arrived at the Batu caves. The entrance was on the otherwise of the highway to where I'd been dropped by the bus, so I put my backpack on and life in hand played chicken with the traffic as I crossed over the road. 

Safely across I headed through the gates and saw the steps leading up to the caves. It was magnificent, a huge cliff face draped in hanging ivy and other greenery with a huge golden statue of Lord Murugan at the bottom right of the steps. As I got closer, I saw the Murugan temple at the opposite side of the steps and decided to go in. Although I'd done a huge number of temples in India I still wanted to take in the whole experience, so I headed in for a closer look. There were many people praying to the various deities in the temple and a picture of a peacock done in coloured rice on the floor in front of one of them. I thought I should head up the steps before it got any warmer.

There were two-hundred-and-seventy-two steps up to the caves each numbered, although faintly, with yellow paint. I had read that you should take your time doing the steps so I took them fifty or so at a time. Even though they were numbered I still found myself counting each step as I climbed ever closer to the summit, stoping only to draw breath and take photos. Needless to say I was a sweaty mess by the time I got to the top of the steep steps. I mopped myself down, guzzled some water and headed into the caves. The Batu Caves is a limestone hill, which has a series of caves and cave temples inside of it. The cave is one of the most popular Hindu shrines outside India and is said to be around 400 million years old. The largest of the caves, the one that was open when I went, is called the Temple Cave where the roof is over one-hundred-metres high. I walked into the cavernous entrance, light only by the natural light from the holes in the ceiling. Although there wasn't much to see apart from the impressive structure of the caves form, I stayed a while to enjoy the cool temperature inside the caves before my climb back down.

I headed back into town and got off the bus near to China town. It was lunchtime and I was a little peckish for some more native delights. I walked up and down the street being offered DVD's by most of the hawkers as well as Rolexes and cheap clothes. Hidden behind some of these stalls were the eateries of China town. I found a hot outdoor buffet was offered a plate and paid RM7 (£1.40) for a plateful of food. Once I was fed I decided to head to the shopping mall district of KL where huge malls lined the streets. I had discovered this morning that my vibrams had worn though at the toe and I wanted to try and get a replacement pair. I found lots of shops offering cheap cloths and nock-off items that I recognised but sadly no vibrams.

I headed back to the hostel to seek help in booking my bus to Penang for the next day, only to be told that I should book it today as the school holidays started tomorrow. So I sat-down-turned-around and left in search of my bus fare. At Bukit Jalil station I was greeted by many people all asking where I was going. Assuming they were taxi drivers I said I was here to book a bus to Penang. They all offered me help guiding me to the bus station I'd already got directions for. Eventually, having seen the same happen to all the other tourists, I worked out they were all fighting for business for the particular company that they worked for. I saw a sign for the company I'd been recommended by the hostel, thanked my 'guide' and made a quick getaway. Once booked, I headed home to meet Aine, an Irish girl staying at the hostel who I'd agreed to go for a drink with. As it was St. Patricks day and I hadn't celebrated last year I was determined to do it this year.

We headed to the pavilion where we'd been told there was a street party going on. After asking several police and security guards for directions we found nothing and settled instead for Malone's bar. We sat at the bar and ordered out drinks. The Guinness wasn't the best I'd ever tasted, but it was Guinness nonetheless. After four pints my bill came to RM106 (roughly £20) and although I'd enjoyed my St. Patricks day celebrations, it had hit my wallet just as badly as if I'd been at home. Slightly squiffy, I headed back to the hostel to pack and sleep, ready for my 10.30am bus to Penang the next day. 

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb