Kuala Lumpur Day 2


Advertisement
Published: March 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So today I decided I would sleep in as long as I could without missing breakfast, which was 10:15. I had a couple of things to get done before heading out to see the sights, I needed to take some clothes in to be washed and go to the post office to try to mail home my Indonesia travel guide. The clothes were easy, 1 item dry cleaned the rest laundered and for a good price.

The book was another thing. I wanted to send it surface (boat), and was told I could but had to go buy the packing materials as the post office had none, so I did, but was told a padded envelope was not good enough and it must go in a box. I pleaded with the guy at the PO but his supervisor said no. So they gave me a box but told me I had to buy tape and brown paper to wrap the box in and decided, I would think on it.

So I headed into town. Today was HOT and humid but I do love this weather and its pretty easy to find someplace air conditioned to walk into. I decided to go to Merdaka square which is like their main promenade for the entire country. There have a huge flag pole, and some very interesting Islamic styled buildings. You may be in Asia but its a Muslim country complete with prayer calls. I looked around for a while, observed a home made bollywood film in the making. There were about 8 Indian guys being filmed in shirt, tie, and long black pants dancing next to a park. I was hot in shorts and a sleeveless T. I wandered the area and noticed another post office.

I forgot to buy stamps in my earlier quest and needed some AC desperately, so I headed to the post office. From there I wanted to go to the central market. So I stopped in a 7-11 and from there found the central market. The sad part was most of the stuff there was from neighboring countries I had already been to so nothing uniquely Malaysian. I did though find this fantastic food court and had a fantastic lunch. Beef rendang, spicy veggies, chicken curry with lemongrass, spicy tofu, it was out of this world and eating in this country is just incredible. I managed to get Steve a souvenir and some post cards.

From here I headed to the Petronas towers which were once the tallest buildings in the world. I hit the mall there, and managed to behave for the most part, I bought a cool T Shirt from the top shop, a play on a bottle of chili sauce, captions saying how hot she is blah blah blah, a bar shirt basically. I also treated myself to a new pair of flip flops, nice Rip Curl ones. Since they are the shoe I have been wearing for two weeks now it was time to reinvest.

After Petronas, I headed to the KL tower, I was told this was the best view of the city and it was. I headed up just for spell and then went to this cheesy Malaysian village thing that was included with the ticket. It was hot though and high time to hit the POOL. I headed back took a dip then headed to the gym. After the gym I was in my room and thought that the AC was making a weird noise, I took a look out the window and the heavens had opened up, I don't think I had ever seen rain like this. It seems to do this everyday for an hour sometime between 4-7 pm and I did manage to get caught in it, having flip flops on is a definite plus.

I wanted to go out to a bar since it was my last real night in town, so I got dressed and headed to Baru Bintang, a bit of a touristy area but cool. I found a local place that had sidewalk seating and almost a sidewalk kitchenm but it was clean and lots of people there. I had some Roti Canai and another Malaysian dish and then attempted after dealing with Cab jockies to find the club I wanted to go to. The cabs here want to try to negotiate an over inflated price always and you just say no slam the door and usually the next guy will use the meter with no bullshit. I did find a legitimate and cool cabbie, we had a hard time finding the bar but we finally found it, the DJ introduced himself to me and played some wicked house and techno. I chatted with a few people and by the end of the night the whole room was dancing. The bar closed at 2 and then I just headed back to the hotel. All in all it was a great day.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb