Public holiday in Sibu


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sarawak » Sibu
June 2nd 2011
Published: June 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Arriving back in Sibu I was amazed at how quiet it was considering that when I left the ferry terminal was jam packed full with people, luggage and chickens. However I should probably have looked into the public holiday norm a bit more as it took me an hour an half of walking around and checking out hostels to find one to stay in that was clean and cheap. Many of them were shut, the clean cheap ones were full and most others were over priced and dirty. Eventually finding River View Inn which was cheap, clean and I got a room on the top floor with a view over the river at sunset I was dying for a shower dripping with sweat, it just wasn't as nice as I was hoping for after not having a shower in 3 days.
I headed to the night market for dinner and overall found the people of Sibu similar to those of Miri, mostly unfriendly and unhelpful so I decided I was going to head over to Kuching the next day although earlier than I intended there seems to be a lot to do within Kuching and around.
This morning I walked over to the ferry terminal which was literally across the road after walking around so much yesterday bought my ticket to Kuching, then found a cafe which did steamed Chinese bread buns for breakfast. They are delicious! Especially the coconut and the pork flavour ones.
Taking the much quieter four and half hour boat journey to Kuching it was time to relax and listen to music while we travelled down the river in the jungle through palm plantations and very small villages.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb