The strange goings on of Tae Tong Lodging


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sarawak » Miri
April 19th 2006
Published: May 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After taking an overnight bus from Kuching I arrived in Miri, a largish city/town next to the border with Brunei. The place itself seemed incredibly uninteresting to me but I didn't look around all that much so I'm perhaps not in the best position to comment on it.

The only thing of any real interest that happened to me in Miri was that I stayed in a place called Tae Tong Lodging or something which was the cheaplest place reccommended by the tourist office nearby. I took one of the beds that is out in the reception hall (it was only for one night after all) and only two other beds were occupied. My two neighbours were both nuts, one was a fat indian bloke who spent a lot of time dribbling down his front and farting loudly and another was a Malaysian salesman from Sabah. The malaysian guy was always trying to talk to me and never stopped going on about pointless things. He practically forced me to share some of his meal with him that night going on non stop about how it wasn't poisoned. I politely shared a little with him, eating with our hands, and then legged it out for the evening. When I came back later fortunately they were both asleep - the indian guy farting away loudly and the malaysian guy thrashing in his sleep, presumably from nightmares about poison.

Just before I got back into my hotel that night I was approached by a prostitute outside and in the short time I was awake when I got in I noticed a lot of dolled up women coming in with shady looking men and I could swear the place runs as a brothel on the side... who knows.

Anyway I only stayed in Miri the one night and purchased a plane ticket to go to Miri the next day where I hoped to catch up with Graeme...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0926s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb