Red Monkey Divers - Miri - Feb 2010


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sarawak » Miri
April 25th 2010
Published: May 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Posted in May2010 - Notes


Miri, Borneo - February 10th
I took the train to London, same as last year's trip to Cairo.
Stayed overnight at Heathrow, The Comfort Hotel, which I might add, was very reasonably priced with 15 nights parking included, shame my car was so poorly and in need of major repair. No worries, there was a little hoppa bus from the airport, and back the next morning. I enjoyed a wonderful meal of melon and swordfish and several glasses of wine.

Considering the time of year, some reasonably priced flight tickets via Dubai and flying into Brunei. Royal Brunei airlines, the only draw back for some is that there is no alcohol on board.
The air hostess outfits were beautiful, already feeling surrounded by a new culture. With all the activity, and the plane getting blessed, it wasn’t until that point, that I reflected how odd to be sat beside a strange young dude. They didn’t bat an eyelid when I checked in as a single instead of a couple; I guess it must happen all the time. (Yep, should've been a couple, but he pulled out just 10 days ago - another story)



The stop in Dubai was short and mainly consisted of walking the length of the airport, through security, and back to the departure gate - some made time for the smoking room. We had a change of crew and off again for the second 7 hour leg. Chatting to other passengers, a lot were going on from Brunei to Australia……… sigh……. One day…….

Brunei was a small and neat airport, possibly one of the calmest airports I’ve been to; most passengers were going on to the transit lounge, and a few of us to passport control. By the time I had completed those formalities, my case was already waiting. Through the open doors to another world, and there was my brother, grinning. His hair long and wavy, his face brown, looking relaxed in shorts and t-shirt, not to mention the crocs. I was ever so slightly overdressed, and as we walked out of the airport the blanket of heat enveloped me. How wonderful it felt? The bluest sky and sunshine, from a grey winter, the coldest on record, this was bliss. I peeled off several layers, rolled up my trousers and changed into flip flops, noting the swollen ankles and puffy feet.

Despite the heat, Brunei was very lush and green, as we sped along in Steve’s Beast, complete with air con. We made a couple of stops en route and at the border crossing from Brunei into Malaysia they seemed to spend a while looking at our passports and glancing suspiciously at my baggage.

Each time I got out the car, I was amazed by the heat and Steve was constantly insisting I drink more water.

Their house is lovely and suits them so well, with a happy feel of home. Open plan living area, wooden floors and really spacious. I have a big downstairs’ bedroom, just off the dining area. We later go out for a bite to eat, 1 G&T and I’m ready for sleep.

Chinese New Year seemed to consist of shopping for food - (I think the outfit shopping took place weeks ago), dressing up and eating. Wandering around the markets was great, different fruits and veg, every one shopping in that panic fashion that I thought only the Brits were capable of at Christmas time. Banquet by night, colourful displays of dragons, tigers and ….. chickens? Not to mention the fireworks.
By day we made a visit to the temple and many house visits, for ‘open house’, still a bit jet lagged and heat exhaustion - I lost count of the houses and the new people we met.
I was given an angpow, this is a small red envelope containing money traditionally given to the youngsters (young single persons), and I felt very honoured. It was a welcome for my first Chinese New Year.
More fireworks and the fire crackers so noisy and messy, bet the lads were really pleased they spent all day with the power wash - to clean up for visitors.

After a bout of diarrhoea and needing to recover from previous events, travel and Chinese New Year, I took myself off to the Marriot………. Yeh.. 5* luxury and poshness at affordable price.

It was blissful and I pampered myself in the big air con room with 2 huge beds of white crisp puffiness (not sure why 2 beds?), and a swimming pool near by. Beautiful garden view, with big sliding windows out to the little balcony area. An opportunity to swim, read, sleep, relax and at sunset I photograph the spectacular sun down.
My tummy felt quite hungry but I had no will to eat anything.

A couple of days reflecting and some decisions made about my car and work, I was feeling much more relaxed and able to eat once more. Met Steve in the café, he had iced cappuccino in a tall glass with a straw. I had a hot cappuccino and some pasta to give me energy. I encountered a few problems with my bank card…aagghhh, something to do with the phone lines.

We went on a little local tourist trail, Canada Hill, where we had a look around the Shell museum. We went onto a park with fantastic suspension bridges and walk ways, a great water area for kids to play and a skate park, which Mark used to visit, followed by a drive along the beach, just as they do in NZ and Australia, fabulous.

The following day we set off on a road trip to Kuching 1000km (approx 800 miles), leaving early for the 10 hour trip. We shared the driving between us, which was great fun, driving Steve’s Beast, the scenery was fantastic, all bringing back poignant memories of our road trips around NZ, the lush green scenery and some of the roads were very similar, with the addition of long houses, which were plentiful and fascinating.

Kuching means ‘Cat’ and there were several cat statues around the town. Our hotel was nice and central; we were able to walk around the town for sightseeing and hadn’t needed to get the car out at all.
We went across the river a couple of times, and I had a feeling of deja vu as we wandered around trying to find a way to get to the fort. When we finally got into the fort, the little man looked like he was about to shut up shop.. and seemed pretty surprised to see anyone (no wonder - he’d probably nicked the signs). We had a walk around and on the way back, walked by a lot of other back packers and tourists, most likely looking for the same fort. Apart from the fun of tracking down these attractions, in most cases they were FREE, even the museums. Unheard of in most European countries, the only fee we had to pay was 4 ringett, less than £1 to get into the nature museum of various woods and sculptures, well worth it, it was the best.

We looked around some shops, Yes, even Steve, had a bite to eat for lunch (as you do) or was it dinner?

It had been cloudy and a few drizzles on and off but still humid - probably ideal weather for the touristy day.

The following day we were up at 6.30am for breakfast, pack up my small case, ready to leave (I am really pleased with the size - ideal for a small holiday within a holiday). We ate together - too early that day for the man that made omelettes, took some scrambled instead.

We checked out and drove off to the Market - made good time, got there at 9am ish and it was really quiet (no coaches yet) and not too hot. We walked all the way down the street of stalls, stopping here and there checking prices, with a plan to buy on the way back. It was such a good plan to get there early; I really enjoyed the feel of it, before it got busy and hot. I bought some material and a bag. Steve and Jen got..... well, several items and all of a sudden it started to get hot and busy.

Steve and I were done by 10.30 and sat in the café waiting for Jen; we all left about 11am. It was a very long day of driving from there, including some night driving, we were shattered when we got back, Jen and I ready to go straight to bed, Steve wanted to unwind with a drink…….. (Maybe it was my driving…ha, that’ll teach him to take the whole journey in one hit).

The last days were spent, um eating (now I’ve got my appetite back), a little shopping in Miri and a couple of visits to Steve’s office, which is at a club with a beautiful blue olymic swimming pool (Red Monkey Divers). I had it all to myself, Bliss ! while Steve caught up with some paperwork.

We also ventured out on a little bush walk to some water falls. One of the water falls was fairly dried up, due to their rainy season being exceptionally dry. We spotted some enormous ants and some tiny red insects, not really sure what they were but avoided them anyway. Steve was engrossed in plant spotting ideas for his garden.

All too soon Steve and Jen were taking me back to Brunei for the Airport and my flight homeward bound. A 3 hour drive, they talked of their work plans, due to get going the following week. They had the boat in for repair and needed to source a boat person.

The journey home went very smoothly, I was sat beside a woman who didn’t have a lot to say for herself, being a night flight we slept mostly. Clocks back 8 hours and a 14 hour trip to London, then another 5 to Plymouth by train.

Erica was waiting for me at the station with a welcome smile and a lift home. Fantastic!







Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

KuchingKuching
Kuching

Harbour view - from my bedroom window


14th June 2010

Thanks for coming!
Glad to see you. Shame it was only 2 weeks. It was fun wasn't it? See you at Xmas hopefully. Steve. x

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb