Jungle Survival - As easy as I + II + III = 4 !!!


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sarawak » Bario
April 29th 2006
Published: May 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Camp WalterCamp WalterCamp Walter

Mado's brothers house where we stopped for lunch, swimming and shooting with an air rifle on the way into the jungle.
Again it's been a long time since I did this and I have loads of stuff to catch up on so I'll keep this as short as possible.

The last weekend I was in Bario I went away with Yara and a guide called Mado, who we met in Pa'Lungan the weekend before to do some jungle stuff. The guy knows his stuff and has done courses and stuff to back up his existing knowledge. We went away for 4 days and spent 2.5 of them in the jungle with him. My accomodation was a hammock tied between two trees with a basher over my head and all our food came from the jungle. We spent our time in the day trekking around being shown various plants that are used for food, poison medicine, building etc. We also went fishing and had a look at making animal traps and shelters. In the evening we chatted about terrorists, religion and all the usual gumph while making ourselves some small souveneirs - I became obssessed with making things recently but thank god the time consuming obssession has passed now.

One highlight was Yara showing us how to make a Didgeridoo out
BasherBasherBasher

Accommodation - rooms are spacious, airy and recieve plenty of light. Feel free to also make use of the hammock provided.
of bamboo and teaching us both how to play it - with limited success I might add but it was all good fun.

The I + II + III = 4 comes from a puzzle Mado showed us using sticks where you are allowed to move one stick to make the equation work. He told us two sticks until he showed us the solution which I thaught was incredibly unfair and use as my excuse for not getting it... Any way the whole time everything he showed us he would say 'it's as easy as one plus two plus three equal to for!' and I'll never forget him for that.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

I+II+III=4I+II+III=4
I+II+III=4

Mado's insane daughter playing while I try to figure out the easy puzzle - hindsight is a wonderful thing.
lunchlunch
lunch

I was pleasantly suprised to find that these overly spikey trees which frequently cause me injury are actually edible so I got my own back :)
DinnerDinner
Dinner

Mado's wife kindly cooking us dinner the night before we left for the jungle
KitKit
Kit

my bag, parang (machete), and jungle boots (actually bowling shoes but ideal for the job)
Honey!!Honey!!
Honey!!

Would you believe it - Honey from an ants nest!
target practicetarget practice
target practice

both me and walter missed everything but somehow Yara's two shots hit right on target! typical.
The one that got awayThe one that got away
The one that got away

The longer a leech sucks your blood the longer the cut will bleed for. I never saw this leech and it bled for ages.


Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0798s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb