Climb EVERY mountain? One is enough for me...


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sabah » Mount Kinabalu
October 27th 2010
Published: October 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Mount KinabaluMount KinabaluMount Kinabalu

Exhausted!
Everyone I'd spoken to who climbed Mount Kinabalu told me what an amazing experience it was...what they failed to tell me is that the experience is amazing at the summit...and at the bottom...everything in between is a mixture of exhaustion, denial, regret, a lot of sweat and occasional bouts of swearing.

Those of you who know me, and know me well, are aware of my inability to sugar coat the facts, and the fact is this climb was a friggin' nightmare for me in all aspects other than when I reached the summit (before the euphoria died away and I remembered I had to climb back down) and when I reached the very bottom and awaiting mini-van ready to get me to a hot shower.

So we set off at 5:30am on Monday for the 2 hour drive to Mount Kinabalu headquarters where we picked up our passes and set off to Timpohon Gate to start the trail to the summit. It was a 6km climb through sweltering heat, followed by relentless torrential downpours, to the Laban Rata Guesthouse, otherwise known as "Thank F*** we're here at last!" On the 6 hour climb up one wise old owl (Hans) reminded me to keep a PMA (positive mental attitude)...he has a lot to learn. If you want PMT I'm your girl, otherwise you've come to the wrong place. I put my earphones back in and let Bruce Springsteen sing my way onwards and upwards.

After a well-earned dinner at the guesthouse we went back to our dorms and tried to catch a bit of shut-eye before we set off at 2:30am for the remaining 2.5km to the summit. 2.5km after a 6km climb should be pretty easy shouldn't it? Oh no...this final 2.5km is the steepest bit yet and some of it requires you pulling yourself up by rope, looking back it was a right old laugh but at the time, in the dark and cold, I wasn't sure I could make another 10 meters let alone 2.5k.

It was worth it. After a few hours and a lot of cursing I pulled myself up onto the summit and barged my way through to the summit-sign for a photo to prove I'd done it. Hans had been waiting for me a while I have to admit, but these little legs could go no faster and that boy can move blinkin' fast! Anyway, he had my chocolate in his bag so in the end I knew I had to keep going in order to reach it.

After many photos we headed back to Laban Rata for breakfast then started the descent back to Timpohon Gate.

So, my advice to those wanting to climb Mount Kinabalu? Do it!! It was an absolutely fantastic and amazing experience that I'd recommend to anyone...just don't expect to think that when you're on your way up...and remember to take a bit of PMA (or, failing that, your iPod!)


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Mount KinabaluMount Kinabalu
Mount Kinabalu

Almost there!
Mount KinabaluMount Kinabalu
Mount Kinabalu

We made it!!


1st November 2010

'Top of the world. ma!'
Well done the pair of you, you should be really proud of yourselves! Told you those little legs would get you up there, Katie... you come from sturdy stock! xx

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb