Life is Sweet!!!


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sabah » Kota Kinabalu
April 9th 2007
Published: April 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Borneo UltimateBorneo UltimateBorneo Ultimate

All I can say is that it was F-U-N! We did some victory exercises and umm sang songs lol...no, we weren't drunk but might as well have been!! You're now reading the words of a class 4 rapid rafter ;)
My hair is all matted and messy, I'm red in the face, my body feels relaxed, utterly and completely satisfied...that's right folks that can only mean one thing...diving!!!

Bliss, bliss, bliss. If this is all my life amounted to, it would be okay.

The dayt before yesterday, a business card in hand, I walked into Scuba Paradise. Lo and behold there was Reuben. A rather tall guy with a dark tan and a sun burnt face. Haha...a beach bum, I like him already. It wasn't until later that I realized how much he reminds of my brother in a lot of ways.

Arrangements were made, my hotel pick-up arrived at 9.30 in the AM...it was Henry. We drove the 15 minutes to Sutera Harbour where Boy met us in a speedboat. There is no other feeling like being on a boat enroute to a dive. Nothing in the world compares to that feeling of excitement, wonder...contentment. The water is where I belong.

While the two dives off the coast off Mamutik and Sulug Islands were nothing spectacular, it was being in the water nonetheless. We did a couple of exercises - hand signals, mask clearing, mask
Beaufort - Tenom Beaufort - Tenom Beaufort - Tenom

The train ride into Tenom was an adventure on its own...
removal, regulator retrieval etc. All of which Reuben did not take seriously. He was a goofball and not ashamed of it too! It was all good fun. It did though make me think about how serious my instructor was way back when. There was very little joking around while he drilled into our heads the right way to prep our equipment.

It was also fun to see the 3 new divers in our group.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Beaufort - Tenom Beaufort - Tenom
Beaufort - Tenom

Brian & I filling in the missing bits
Beaufort - Tenom Beaufort - Tenom
Beaufort - Tenom

riding the old school train
Beaufort - Tenom Beaufort - Tenom
Beaufort - Tenom

The gang minus 1
TenomTenom
Tenom

Our ending point...and a lunch which we had 5 minutes to eat before having to run for the train!
At the back of a train in Borneo...At the back of a train in Borneo...
At the back of a train in Borneo...

the rafting gang unites! Nevermind the blistering skin on our bums and feet.
Kota Kinabalu Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu

from the window beside my bed...
BaksoBakso
Bakso

at a roadside stall. We were enroute to have dinner at a seafood place but got distracted. Ended up eating all along the way...we never made it to the restaurant.
To market, to marketTo market, to market
To market, to market

Dinner the next night, we made it to our destination before greediness got the best of us...
Bravo!!Bravo!!
Bravo!!

Bravo to an excellent, excellent show. Wish I could show you guys the bamboo tapping, jumping dance! Maybe on youtube if I ever get into that...


10th April 2007

So from this article you have published I have leanred a few new things. One of it is that I remind you of a beach bum and a goofball whos not affraid to admit he's a goofball.thanks a lot
11th April 2007

Hahaha Darrylllllllllll...I keep forgetting that you guys actually read this! I meant that in the nicest possible way. Not the fact that he was a beach bum but rather just his style etc. The way he spoke...that kinda thing lah. Aiseh, so sensitive!

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb