Another Lazy Day


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Penang » Batu Ferringhi
June 16th 2004
Published: June 16th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Brilliant - first encounter with o/s internet at hotel is absolute nightmare! Was well on the way to great first blog on the road, only to have it destroyed by pop ups! Ahhhh alas I must try once again!
Well if independant travelling/backpacking is a religion and Lonely Planet is the bible, right now I am about the equivalent of the anti-christ of travel 😊
Right now am living the life of a prima donna - and just on the side - it is a pretty good lifestyle 😊 I wake up, have some breakfast, hit poolside, read, sunbake (try to avoid getting too burnt - darn pasty Melbourne Winter skin), read, drink, have massages, read some more, swim some more, go have a relax in my room, then think about going out to the night markets and getting some dinner! There is an excellent Hawker Market across from the hotel - it is all local food, from small little venders - looks kinda dodgy but the food is great, much to try and at such a great price - for dinner and a big beer, I am yet to pay more than $7, so that keeps me pretty happy.
Ooh but I have had a lesson or two on how to windsurf!!! It is wayyyyyyyyy harder than it looks, and naturally the instructor makes it look impossibly easy! It took me about 15 minutes how to learn to stand up on the board and pull in my sail. It is fair to say that many people would have been laughing terribly hard if they had witnessed all these goings on! But eventually I conquered that darn board and sail and start to surf. To my dismay there was a very strong current, that kept drifting me to the right against all my hard work. Oh then there was the little problem of figuring out how to turn my sail and board to head back to shore. My instructor told me to go, have fun, keep sailing out as far as I could stand up, and he would keep an eye on me, if I got to far then they would come and get me with a jet ski. Well fair to say when I was approx 2km from where I wanted to be, and heading towards the rocks, my arms were tiring very fast, it was time to be rescued 😊 Hehehehe but I did get a free ride on the jet ski. For all those fitness buffs - it is a great work out for the legs, arms, back and stomach! Am still hurting today, even after a massage yesterday!!!!!!
It is intersting to find that due to perhaps the heat of the day, nothing gets start around here until about 8pm at night, then all the night markets come alive - fake Gucci, Fendi and Dior for as far as the eye can see. If I wasn't on such a tight weight limit, and I was going home after this, I would be very tempted to just shop till my hearts content! But alas this is just not to be. Other than the hawker food and the night markets, there really isn't terribly much to see or do in Batu Ferringhi - it is what it is - a tourist resort with lot's of nice hotels and restaurants and is quite cheap to do things here. Whilst I know I should be culturally sensetive and go see Georgetown and a couple of other places on the island, the heat and humidity get a bit too much. So until Friday (when I arrive in Switzerland!!!) I shall embrace my status of independant travellers enemy number one, and live it up like the Queen of Sheba!
NB: When I get to Europe I will get some photo's going on the site. When these get going, keep in mind to watch out for my vegemite series of photo's - am making sure that me and my travel vegemite see the world!!!! 😊
"We shall never regret the things that we have done, half as much as those that we never ventured to do"



Advertisement



18th June 2004

Windsurfing antics
Lauren, i could've told you how bloody hard wind surfing is - and you're right, the quadraceps will feel it for threee days. My tips is avoid using your legs for awhile.....roll out of bed, scramble to the poolside and sunbake and be waitered on all day....hmmmmmmmmmmm what a life!
20th June 2004

Green with Envy!
Hey Lozza! Soooo nice to hear from ya mate! Sounds like you are definitely living the high life right now, and good on you, cos you deserve it! Was the guy on the Jet-Ski cute??? I hope so! :) I look forward to hearing about your next adventures! Luv always Frig xoxo

Tot: 0.218s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1184s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb