Devonshire Cream Tea , what ho!


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Pahang » Tanah Rata
July 18th 2007
Published: August 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post


Asia » Malaysia » Cameron Highlands » Tanah Rata By SarahP
July 18th 2007
Good day to you all back in that green and pleasant land we call England (most of you!) - you'll never guess what we had a couple of days ago (well you might from the title) - a blimming cream tea!! With real milk as well which I can tell you is a rare sight in this part of the world - the locals drink sweet condensed milk with their tea. I'm trying to sound colonial but it's not working - jolly good! Hm....! After our last post I did actually manage to hobble round the old lonely planet "walking tour" of Georgetown, we saw some grand buildings and Fort Cornwallis, which is where the English first landed on Penang Island. We managed to arrive at the same time as about 12 coachfulls of Malaysians, unfortunately Ben had to usher me away and hide me in a park for a bit while most of them were in the Fort. I'm not sure of the reason why - whether I was looking particularly attractive or particularly odd (more likely)- but I was the sole attraction for about 100 men - all unashamedly staring at me! People stare a lot here but the sheer quantity of people got a bit much - especially as they are not interested in looking away when you catch them staring!! I think I would go mad if Ben wasn't here - coming from a place where staring is considered rude it does feel a bit weird, you feel like some exotic bird or something even if you are dressed in my usual very masculine attire of boardies and a tshirt! Fort Cornwallis was what you would expect - but we did do some funny photos with mannequins dressed in period clothing - putting sunglasses on them and being very childish! We had pizza that evening in our regular foodcourt (complete with very badly sung popular western songs), but it was more like a quiche - that should teach us! Nice though. The rest of the food we tried in Penang was really nice - although I didn't find Penang chicken which you can apparently get at the deli counter in Sainsburys - ahem mother, very cultural!

Next day we went to Penang Hill, which involved a very slow funicular ride crammed full with people who just didn't seem to understand the concept of QUEUING! But we got used to the fact we would end up at the back wherever we began! It was nice and cool at the top and we saw some good views of Georgetown, including a rather dubious brown fog over the mainland! There were walks to do on the top but my toe was giving me jip, so we decided to recreate colonial times and go up to the "Tea House" further up the hill - we were the only people there for a bit - whilst all the locals and holidaying Malaysians ate at the food stalls below - felt like right snobs!! But the prospect of scones drove us forward! The teahouse was a lovely building with a garden, we sat on the lawn and shard a cream tea, much to the waiter's disgust (after all, we are rich westerners who have unlimited amounts of money at our disposal), but it was a bit pricey! But it was really nice and Ben licked the plates clean! Eventually we got down the hill (after waiting for ages in a pen not unlike those used for sheep dipping) and then managed to get a bus back to the town.

We decided to go to a nearby(ish) beach for the next day, for our last swim in the sea for a while, unfortunately Ben got stung by a jellyfish so the swimming didn't last long!! He was a very brave boy - it swelled up and everything - but despite his pleadings I didn't wee on it - I'd just been to the loo! We sat and had a mango juice watching the sun go down which was really nice - and I went horseriding! It was rather brief though and I suspect I got a bit ripped off - but it was such a beautiful horse - little did I know it was a sodding racehorse! Seeing as it was the first time I've ridden in a good few years and I've got a very sore toe I reckon I didn't do too badly seeing as the damn thing had a very crazy mind of it's own!! First of all he didn't want to move, then I got him to canter and someone started their car engine just as I went past! Managed to slow him down and turn around, got into a trot then he decided he wanted to go galloping past where I started in front of loads of people, and then come to a complete stop exactly where the guy had originally been standing with him! Methinks that's where he gets fed... hmm! (Memories of donkey derbys?) I must have looked like a bit of an idiot (I completely lost control!!) but at least I stayed on! I'm avoiding headstrong racehorses from now on!

We left Penang yesterday and got a bus to the Cameron Highlands, where we are now. We're pretty high up and the bus really couldn't cope getting up here!! Every time there was a slight incline (the kind you would barely notice riding a bike) the bus slowed down to about 5 miles an hour and made some rather strange noises! So it took us a while! But we made it, and found a nice little guesthouse with a TV room and lots of films! Don't need a fan here though - the temperature never gets above 21degrees, and is really quite chilly at night - eventually I can use a duvet!! Yesterday we grabbed some food at a curry house, a really nice vegetarian meal. Never fear though - Ben's not converting me, I avoid chicken at the curry houses because they don't tend to distinguish between meat and bone, and many of you will know I'm not very good with bones! We stopped at a place not long ago which was pretty interesting - the guy said chicken? I said no thank you and he proceeded to put a huge great chicken leg on my plate (Ben managed to get a really tasty meal...), so Ben actually had to cut the meat off the bone for me - that's how much I can't do it!!!! My hero!

Where was I? Oh yeah, yesterday, we watched the beginning of Happy Feet and the Truman show at our hostel then went out for a late night roti (unleavened bread which you dip in curry - not sure if we have mentioned it - we're addicted!), it seems in this place half 10 is very late! We felt very naughty sneaking out while everyone was in bed and got to a place just before it closed. It was worth it though, washed down by a hot milo! Yum!

Today we intended to go a a tea plantation, but woke up late after a bad night's sleep - we had a very loud snorer next door - who kept waking himself up with various yelps and screams!! We had some lunch (another curry - on a banana leaf) and waited at the bus stop for ages - in the end we realised we would never make it to the plantation in time so we have put aside today as a 'soaking in the atmosphere' day! The main thing to do here is trekking but I can't walk very well so we can't go too far - rubbish. We'll get more done tomorrow!

P.S. Just to remind everyone, I'm 22 on Friday (20th) so I want everyone to send me sympathy emails - I'm gonna be over the hill!!! Arrghh!


Advertisement



19th July 2007

over the hill indeed!!
hey there spicey, just wishing you happy birthay a day in advance as i have v.limited internet access!!! i shan't be too sypathetic as i'll b joining you at that oh so spledid age in a coulpe of weeks!!! ho hum!! i bet ure b'day will b much more memorable than mine tho, u got anything grand planned??? love 'n' kisses, fi x x x x

Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1103s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb