Shadow of the moon at half past four


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Pahang » Cherating
June 13th 2007
Published: June 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The title is actually what the place we are staying at is called!! It's a collection of little chalets in the woods (lots of mossies) and is brilliant!! The owner warned us that if we hear bangs on our roof not to be alarmed, it's only the monkeys eating in the trees above and dropping fruit stones - they also have wild boar, which I unknowingly ate in a curry last night (convinced it was beef) - I highly recommend!!

The owners are really nice, apparently are taking us out dancing tonight to a place witha 3 piece Filipino band that play rock and roll - we'll let you know how that one goes...! Last night we chatted with the owner, the guy is an ex policeman who was involved in fighting the guerilla communists in the jungles in the past - he had some pretty interesting stories.

To backtrack, we're in Cherating at the moment, a little seaside town on our way up the east coast. The journey here was interesting, a 3 hour freezing air conditioned coach journey to Kuantan, a nearby big town. Then we had to catch a local bus, which was interesting - we had no idea which one to get and when we got on I constantly had a male crotch or bum in my face - luuurvely. Luckily it emptied out a bit on the journey! That's one thing that it seems all the English travellers have a probelm with - lets just say that the people here don't share our ideas about personal space!!!!! Ben went off to get cash out while we waited for the bus and I rescued a girl who was being hassled by a rather overly friendly young man - so he continued to hassle me! (Much to the amusement of two local women sitting opposite...!)It seems the second Ben leaves me, or even walks behind me, I get hassled by the local young men. In England if that happens I would probably shout some profanity at them but I'm not sure how well that would go down here!! It's been worse on the east coast, makes me glad I'm not travelling alone. Not sure if it's because I'm western and have blonde hair, or the clothes, (theres no way I'm gonna wear the traditional muslim dress, which does look really beautiful, my poor little European body would not cope with the heat!!!).

Anyway , best be off, we have to figure out where to go next... the eternal dilemma!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb