Melting in Melaka


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Melaka » Melaka City
July 4th 2006
Published: July 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

From Singapore, I negotiated my first bus trip to Melaka, which my Lonely Planet described as "sultry", i.e. incredibly sweaty! It's a really well preserved town which has seen a lot of "invasions" over the years, but maybe a little too touristy. I went to the People's museum, which was quite good and I pottered about Chinatown, where I sampled Chicken Rice Balls, which I think is local to the area.

Stayed in the Kancil Guest House, which is a converted Chinese townhouse run by a guy called Daod and his pal Charlie - both of whom really like a good, long chat! Daod has travelled all over the place and taught me lots about Hinudism. Anyway...aside from some of my laundry disappearing from the line, I really liked it - v chilled out and lots of character.

Met some more lovely people there, some of whom I travelled on to KL with...



Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb