The Long Journey


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Kedah & Perlis » Pulau Langkawi
May 23rd 2008
Published: May 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We arrived at Heathrow and managed a swift check in despite having Ravneek and Jia pulling their little cases in different directions. Security at Heathrow was its usual disorganisation. I thought intially security had gone to smoothly as I did not have to take the laptop out of its bag, takes my kids shoes off or have a fight with the stroppy Security Guards. Although, my wife had a little argument with one of them as he was so rude to her, it is not like her to get into a heated confrontation. Anyway, I managed to intervene as the peacemaker in this instant, which is normally her role when I get into heated arguments! It was funny to see this role reversal.

Anyway, past Security, collected the kids, belongings, etc...... and wandering off to Duty Free (so we thought!). Suddenly we were in another long queue. What is this for everyone was asking??? They have installed a damn shoe scanner, through which we all had to take off our shoes and pass through. Normally, I would not have too many objections, but travelling with small kids is a nightmare enough without the added hassle of different types of scanners, etc. It would have been easier to have checked my kids into the hold and collected them in Langkawi.

Anyway, all the traumas getting airside at the airport aside. Having arrived at the boarding gate, I remembered why it is advantageous travelling with young kids - pre boarding, which means no queuing again, yeah!!!! Although, to be honest it makes more sense to get kids on last as it is hard enough to keep them entertained in a small confined space for 12 - 13 hours anyway. Oh well, why moan! I should rename myself grumpy old man - if this is what becoming 31 does to me, God help me for when I hot 40 or more.....

Anyway, got a 13 hour flight to get through so write more later.

Bye

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb