Vientiane : 30 day Visa + 15 ATMs


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
August 9th 2006
Published: August 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Off to LaosOff to LaosOff to Laos

Mini van to the Friendship bridge
Je suis bien arrivee a Vientiane. Le vol avec Air Asia etait impeccable et puis une fois a Udon Thani j'ai pris le bus (150 baht) jusqu'au Friendship bridge ou j'ai eu un visa pour 30 jours et ensuite avec deux autres voyageurs on a partage un taxi jusqu' Vientiane. Et puis comme j'avais reve j'ai bu une biere Lao au bord du Mekong.

La ville me plait enormement. C'est petite et moins chaotiaque que Bangkok. Et on y trouve tout ce qui est necessaire pour bien vivre y compris le vin de paille a 69 dollars le bouteille et au moins 15 ATMs.

Arrived safely in Vientiane. The flight was excellent and I would definitely recommend Air Asia - on time, comfortable and the crew speaks excellent English. The trip to Vientiane was really easy as well. I got the bus at the Udon Thani airport (the ticket booth is just right across from the passenger exit - 150 baht).

Then to the friendship bridge where I got a 30 visa. My guide book said I would only get 15 so this must be a recent change - I didn't ask for 30 days it was just automatic. Also there are around 15 ATMs in Vientiane. I'm able to get by with my Visa card no problem.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Beer and MekongBeer and Mekong
Beer and Mekong

Not the greatest photo but it was a big dream of mine
Fish dinnerFish dinner
Fish dinner

3 Euros for all this - and yes it does look enormous however I wound up giving half of it to some begging children so everything worked out.


Tot: 0.295s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 61; dbt: 0.2556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb