Outbound to Vientiane


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
January 27th 2011
Published: February 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

SIN-VTE

Singapore- Kuala Lumpur - Vientiane

This was my first trip after a 3 month long break. During the break I had worked for a month on an internship and earned enough money to sponsor my trip. My flight was out of Kuala Lumpur on the 27th Jan afternoon at 13:30pm. I was supposed to take a bus from Johor Bahru to KL and make it to the airport early morning. Little did I know that I would be denied entry into Malaysia because of my visa being in the older passport. I had to come all the way back home and research online to discover that I could get a transit visa at the KL airport on arrival. I rushed to the airport with my bags and eventually bought a ticket. This was when I encountered the American girl, Christine. We really hit it off and had a great time talking to each other. We managed to grab breakfast at an Indian Restaurant at Changi airport at her persual. We exchanged phone numbers and promised to keep in touch. Finally I caught my flight and made it to Kuala Lumpur getting a visa on arrival at the airport.

After waiting for 2 hours I met Loic (Roiku as I call him) and we waited for our flight together. Air Asia flights are pretty uneventful, you are not going to have the flight attendant sing a song or shower you with food, drinks, praises. Luckily for us its really cheap and thats all we cared about anyways. We reached Vientiane at 3:30 pm only to discover that there were no guesthouses available. This was the dry season in Laos and hence the peak season for travelling as well. After searching around for a while, We eventually managed to find a room in a slightly high-end hotel but nevertheless we were glad. The hotel was called Sinnakhone hotel and was very comfortable. It was located on Rue Francois Ngim close to the backpacker quarter.

The evening in Vientiane was pretty quiet. We just walked around the capital "city". To our surprise, there was no traffic on the streets even at 5:30 pm in the evening and we were soon to discover that Laos is the most chilled-out, laziest country in the world. The night went on uneventfully, meeting other travelers and talking about our exploits. We were pretty tired from not sleeping the previous night and crashed early.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb