Well that was short


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
July 21st 2009
Published: July 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So my time in Laos has certainly not been boring. After our epic journey over the border from vietnam. We continued our travels wanting to get to Vang Vieng ASAP so that we could get back up North to do some fun stuff in the rainforest.
We spent a couple of nights in Vang Vieng. The first was pretty chilled, just went to a bar for a bit, but I was so tired after all the travelling that I ended up wimping out and going to bed pretty early.
The second day we had decided to go tubing. I was having money issues after being charged for cash i didnt receive in Luang Prabang, and so had to sort that out, but once i'd got some dollar together, we got our tubes and proceeded to the launch point. We got a bucket at the first bar, it seemed a good way to start the afternoon. Things went from fun to drunk pretty quckly and i'm sure we were in bed by 8pm. Strange, seeing as we were both drinking Red bull (which is mental stuff in Asia) and yet felt incredibly drunk and sleepy. Next morning I woke up, and my money belt with passport and cards was nowhere to be seen. Neither of us recall much of what had happened the previous day, except that we know we didn't actually drink all that much. Not enough to pass out and sleep through the whole evening. Which leads us to think we were spiked. Neeedless to say, I have had to travel on to Vientiane (which we'd decided to miss out) so that I can go the British embassy in Bangkok. Missing out on actually looking round Luang Prabang. AND will not longer be doing the Gibbon Experience (at least this time round anyways). I've left Kev once again and wil either meet him in bangkok before the full moon...or travel up to meet him in Chiang Mai. It all depends how long the authorites take to process what they need to.
Pretty pissed off this has happened to me. After missing out on a weeks of travelling to being ill and having had my cards stolen AGAIN.

That was a few days ago...

I spent 3 nights in Vientiane. All pretty boring as the hotel i was staying at was empty. I did have some nice Laos food though, despite not having much money to spend. I had to go to the Aussie Embassy to get letters to take to Immigration ( to get record of loss for passport) and prove i was in the country legally, then to Ministry of Foreign Affairs (to get a letter allowing me to leave the country) and then to the Thai Embassy (who messed me around and ensured that i had to stay for the third night, and pay extra money to change my bus to Bkk). On the 4th evening I got a bus from Vientiane to Bangkok. A VIP bus, is what it was called, but it was still pretty shoddy, cramped and ensured i didnt sleep at all!
Upon arriving in Bangkok I had to go to the British Embassy to file my lost passport/ get me a new one please form and get my emergency travel document which i can use to get tickets and accom.
In the afternoon I found me a Massage place and got a traditional Thai massage. My muscles are still enjoyably achey now! In the evening i had another early night, catching up on the sleep i missed out on the bus.
This morning I've done not much but am going to meet my friend Alex who's just started teaching English here in Bangkok.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0653s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb