Ode to a Deal


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
August 19th 2007
Published: May 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Not as hot today, but still sat here slightly bored waiting for the Thai visa to be approved. Should've been doing it today but too much of a bastard behind the eyes hangover yesterday so didn't get round to photocopying all the red tape bullshit they want.

Started the day with the necessity of Laos, their locally made coffee which could strip the tats from a Hell's Angel.A serving of fried rice and vegetables kicked off the morning and after paying the equivalent of $1US for the two I stopped at a local shop to buy some water. The greeting was different to the usual 'what you want?' I've come used to. A young kid appeared looking like he'd spent too long in front of a Playstation with only pork pies for company, and after pointing to water, he gently said 'you want something?' I knew where this was going and laughed and then came the barrage of available drugs 'marijuana, I have'. I laughed and looked at my watch which still said 8 in the morning, too early for this shit, I've come to expect it from the tuk tuk blokes who can offer anything from marijuana to girls, but a shop whilst buying water was a new one, 'I have everything', was the next retort. I laughed again and looked around the shop thinking he did have a good selection of washing powders, cold beverages, and woven baskets, 'You want speed, ice, opium'. Amphetamines I could deal with, being offered these in most places, but opium was a new one. I smiled again, considering it momentarily of course, and then paid for the water and left. I could still hear him calling 'Opium, I have everything sir'. Only went in for a fucking bottle of water but it was a start to the day that's had me smiling since. Why can't that happen at Tescos? Would make the mundanity of sterile shopping aisles a whole new shopping experience if opium was readily available next to Ferrero Rocher and Marmite and the assistants offered you amphetamines instead of directing you to the yoghurts.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb