Ailments


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
January 21st 2008
Published: January 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Rosie just did one but she missed out some bits so I will do them because we won't get internet for a while. Tomorrow we are going 'down south' maybe, where the weather is hot and the people are.. something. But we are now thinking maybe not. We aren't brilliant at deciding.

I am feeling quite ill. I made a list earlier of the weird things that are wrong with me (I really had nothing better to do, we were waiting for Gwen to wake up so we could go to Buddha Park, which we didn't go to in the end). Because right now quite a large portion of right bum cheek is completely numb, and has been so for about a week and a half now. I really don't know why, but it's quite worrying. And the tips of my fingers are rock hard because I'm so hot, does anyone else get that? Also my legs are doing this weird pulsy thing from walking too much, that feels like im being flicked in various points on my legs. I haven't found anyone who also gets that yet, nor have I found anyone who's middle toe randomly stands on end (apart from Ian although don't know if it was the same thing). Now it (the middle toe) goes white and loses feeling after 7.5 minutes of walking with shoes on. Also, the roof of my mouth feels like foam when I'm at high altitudes and kind of feels like it's disappearing. Relatedly to the high altitudes my ears and brain explode backwards with pressure.. slightly. No they really do hurt on planes. But yes, what is wrong with me? Does anyone else have weird things wrong with them and just choose not to announce them publicly on travelblog.org? I'm sure there are other weird things I get, I'll add them in when I remember. Anyway I'm basically now using this as an excuse to talk about myself, so I'll go back to the travel stuff..

We got back to Vientiane last night on varieties of buses, pick-ups and a tuktuk, and met Gwenael who is the French boy/man staying with Ruth now (WOw this keyboard has a forward slash. That almost makes up for how rubbish it is in every other way). He's got a funny walk and a French voice and we're going somewhere with him tomorrow (either Ban Pako or Khong Lore (that is definitely spelt wrong)) or possibly just somewhere really close by. If we go to Khong Lore we can stay with a Lao family for 2 nights which would be exciting/scary (I am making full use of this forward slash). But yes, we are actually leaving scarily soon, so we must do something. I am thirsty. Today we went to Xang ummm something.. It was a big arch and took ages to get there and we got very hot and sweaty and lots of people stared at us which was really annoying. Did I mention before the man who openly took photos of us? We had a horrible bus station experience that got very flustery, and then we went to That Luan, which is printed on all the money bills and it's a big golden.. thing.. that begins with 's'.. STUPA says wikipedia. Yes that was nice, we have been doing a lot of tuktuk-ing today, and even managed a spot of bargaining.

Rosie is now sat next to me, and I think we will probably go now. It seems she didn't actually miss out very much, but oh well, now at least you know our plans (or un-plans) for this week. Hope it is not so rainy. Is there still bird flu or was that you exaggerating Amex1247 Iero Cox?

Rosie says:
I have been reading a book about monks and I thought I would share some facts with you, they aren't allowed to eat after 12 noon, they get up at about 4am each morning, aren't allowed to earn money or buy things and rely on donations. Isn't that interesting.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb