*#ck *#ck I need a Tuk Tuk


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vientiane
November 10th 2006
Published: November 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Journey to Vientiane was a bit of an epic one but I'm sure not as good as a 2day boat journey down the Mekong! we left Ko Pha Ngan for Ko Samui just so we could get a flight to Bangkok. First flight i've ever been on where the plane had proper propellers (yes i know...all planes have propellers but not on full view for scaredy cats like me to see!)

We then got night sleeper train from Bangkok to Laos border! hilarious...couldn't work out the sleeping arangements and had to play what seemed like a game of charades with an aged thai couple next to us!i'm sure they though we were right eejits! anyway, worked it out and slept most of the way despite freezing air con!

Vientiane was lovely! I know lots of people stay for a day and move on but we stayed a bit longer...i had my reasons.

our room was lovely there-very 50's Bond-style and we loved the French colonial feel to the place..well..maybe it was more the french food that we loved! Croissants, baguettes and yummy quiche!(yes Katy Dunn - it was the Joma bakery that did it so lets not talk about that place!) i think my eyes were bigger than my stomach (what's new eh?) and while out exploring i ended up in urgent need of a tuk tuk..i mean they're flipping everywhere when you don't bloody need them but when you're about to lose your dignity on a roadside when you desperately need the loo for god's sake where are they? he overcharged us but i didn't care!

hence the extra day in Vientiane! Also, met a couple called Alison and Gerry and got chatting. Turns out Alison knew my Mum and worked out who i was from a conversation about why we were travelling. Small world! it was crazy!

Wat Sisaket was nice but was so hot when we visited. got some good photos though - we were like papparazzi trying to snap the buddhist monks!

with stomach under control we were keen to get on to Louang Prabang (apologies for sharing so much detail!)

Katie xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



27th November 2006

Sorry to hear you were poorly but I won't hear a bad word about the Joma Bakery - that place was my lifeline in Vientiane!!! Earl Grey tea (with proper, not condensed, milk!) and yummy carrot cake! I think I obviously cracked earlier than you - too many stir fries... Your comment on the next blog about sending your stuff home in LP made me laugh - reminded me of the worries we had checking the suitcases into the Vientiane (even sharing your padlock code just in case they asked!!!). Lots of love, safe travels xxxx

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb