Ropeswinging....badly


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vang Vieng
October 30th 2006
Published: November 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Er........Is this the menu?Er........Is this the menu?Er........Is this the menu?

Happy cafe, menu. Do these come with french fries or do I have to order them seperately?
Got to Vang Vieng quite safely, for once we were on a coach which had a non maniac driver!! Vang Vieng is really chilled out, a bit like pai without the tie-dye hippies. The main road is full of resturants which have a rather unhealthy friends addiction. I must have watched about 3 box sets worth while I've been here and I still think its crap. Went tubing on the second day which is really good fun and a great way to meet people. A lot more fun than the Pai version, along the way theres bars and ropeswings. The first one was a zipline which was fairly easy. The second one was a ropeswing and this is where it all got a bit messy, tried it the first time and fell off it, tried it the second time and did it, Full of adrenline I do it again, go for a right pisser and fall in. Fortunately for me the side of my head took the full impact of the water or I could have really hurt myself!!! was seeing stars and felt crap for the next 2 days. Think I've had concussion. Feel better now though. Final ropeswing everyone
Buddhist MonksBuddhist MonksBuddhist Monks

Everyone had Flags that day.
cheered me on, there must have been about 40 people, and I fell off that one as well. I feel like a really weak steve-o. After falling off the final ropeswing, that was it for me for the day, had a few more drinks and headed back to the town in the dark, it was really good, eveyone linked their tubes as we went back. Following day was sepnt in bed or in a resturant lying down feeling crap. The following day me and dave and everyone else hired some mountain bikes and headed out to some caves about 10km from the centre. The bikes were really bad, I was scared to do any kind of jump or pedal fast as the thing felt like it was going to fall apart at any minute! Got to the first set of caves and we were met by a bunch of little kids asking for us to pay to go into the caves. We were given a torch, which loosely translated means 'scooter battery with some rather dodgy looking wires leading to a headlamp'. The cave was pretty hardcore, at times I was crawling on my stomach through them. I can see why it was 2 kids that were our guides. Starting singing the indiana jones theme tune and one of them starting singing it afterwards. He also repeated something dave said when he saw part of a tunnel, hopefully he won't repeat that again, its not a word you'd learn in school! Dunno how they got it in there but there was a buddha in the cave. This guy buddha, he's everywhere!
We then went down to a lagoon and another cave. This was quite a nice cycle through the countryside, we went past a few villages and kids, who threw stones at Alice and Dave!!! The lagoon was really nice although I had no swim shorts with me. Me and Glynn went up to another cave where we were met by some americans and canadians who had gone up there without a torch and were using their mobiles for it. they tagged along with us in the cave, one of the more adventurous girls decided she was going to climb down a hole, which she then fell into. Hearts in mouth moment at that point but she was ok, just a few cuts and bruises.
Went tubing again on the
Takraw Action shotTakraw Action shotTakraw Action shot

its me and a german and a french guy who considering he's french and they produce loads of le sex footballers was crap at basically a version of headers and volleys!
final full day, decided that my ropeswinging days are over after falling off the zipline! I've never been scared of anything before but I have found my nemesis. Laos Ropeswings. Just had a few drinks and today, I'll be moving on to Vientanne.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Me and Dave, TubingMe and Dave, Tubing
Me and Dave, Tubing

Just fell of the zipline, thats it for the day for me!
Caving Before ShotCaving Before Shot
Caving Before Shot

Nice and clean, torch is a bit crap though
Buddha in the caveBuddha in the cave
Buddha in the cave

Dunno how they shoehorned this in! we had to crawl into the cave! The power of buddha I suppose
The two GuidesThe two Guides
The two Guides

got the one on the right singing the Indiana jones theme
Caving After ShotCaving After Shot
Caving After Shot

Me and the guide


Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 63; dbt: 0.101s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb