20+ hours of buses and a new country


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vang Vieng
July 19th 2011
Published: July 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It was a sad day to leave Sapa and head back to sweaty Hanoi, but thankfully it would only be for 12 hours. The day was spent eating, shopping, walking around, and catching up on my travel blog. I needed to rest up for my last Vietnamese overnight sleeper bus. 20 hours to Vientiane, Laos.

I am so glad to be short. These sleepers buses are far more comfortable for me than most people. I slept like a baby despite the wafts of urine entering my nose from the nearby toilet. It was a long bus ride and a simple transition at the border. Laos was awesome as soon as I crossed the border. I think it was the nice snack of deep friend, battered bananas at 8 am. Sugar kick in gear the journey continued. Without much hassle and a lot less honking horns, I made it to Vientiane and I even felt well rested. On the bus I met 2 groups of people looking to head to Vang Vieng. The tubing capital of Laos. Together, 6 of decided to continue on the journey and catch another bus ride for 3 hours north. 3 Americans and 3 Belgians in total. It was to be a big party group and I honestly felt a bit out of place, but nonetheless, I was headed for some crazy times.

We landed in Vang Vieng around 8 pm or as I like to call it, The Twilight Zone.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.309s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1552s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb