The Queen of leisure


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vang Vieng
March 1st 2007
Published: March 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Queen of leisure, as Mel would put it. That’s meeeee.
I have decided against a teacher’s position and am therefore free in what I do (apart from a few responsibilities). And I have been good. I usually suck at functioning without a given routine, but I haven’t fallen into the depressing laziness of watching a couple of videos after breakfast and never leaving the house!
I realized life can be bloody luxurious, especially in this beautiful country.

One Saturday, I was still lying in bed reading and coping (or at least trying) with the remains of a good night out, when I got a call. “Sarah, are you ready? Let’s go to VangVieng. Now.” I kind of remembered talking about a possible WE away, but that was a few weeks ago…and it never got confirmed.
What the hell, I am the Queen of Leisure and need to live up to my name… 40 min later I have had a shower, breakfast, packed my bag and was waiting at the northern bus station. A crew of four Lao girls and a hung-over felang was on its way.

VV can be trashy with its “Friends”-Bars, Happy here Happy there and Oh-So-Alternative backpackers, but it is a beautiful spot to have a mindless, relaxed and fun time. We went to a festival, many bars, hired bikes, went to the jumping place, ate and drank far to much and simply did want we felt like.
We had a great time and Moon and I even stayed on till Tuesday. I had promised to get back to Syvone (or money-boy?#ß Ted) to have a look at his school.
And I kept my promise and it was amazing experience. I didn’t get much closer to his “business ideas”, but enjoyed teaching at the local school. The “class room” was a crapy place, even to Guantanamo standards, but the little girls and boys were eager to learn and to participate in anything that I would come up (stupid enough😉 But the best was their curiosity and smiles, which leaves you with nothing but your body being flooded with waves of endorphins…



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.032s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 18; dbt: 0.014s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb