Route 13


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Vang Vieng
June 11th 2005
Published: June 17th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Route 13

I'm takin't the bus south from Luang Prabang to Vang Vieng in the direction of the capital of Laos, Ventiane..It's a 5-6 hour trip to go about 200 KM along rte 13 infamous for attacks on buses in 2003

(Sit next to Danish guy Jinse, and some Irish behind (Michele from Kerry, Paul from Dublin, and also English guy called Derek)


We've got a guy with an AK47 - we're ok!

The road is narrow and very very windy with breath taking views. of mountains. Suddenly there is a loud bang and all the Farang are awoken from their music players, books and slumber. Smoke rises from the seat next to me....We pile out and see the huge whole in the tyre which is promptly fixed by the bus staff, one driver, one assistant, and one security guy. It is at this point that I notice the security guy is has got what appears to be an AK47 around his shoulder....When he's got his back to me I take a pic of him and the stunning scenery that surrounds us....

I book into Melany hotel in Vang Vieng which has got verandas that
View from the busView from the busView from the bus

Io pictured in foreground with Lao scenic beauty in background
face the mountains....I took a pic for you....and meet Lisa who is very sympathetic to my Laundry story


Laundry Huntin'

All the guesthouses are helpful but even though I try ever guest house in the town and mark each one thoroughly there is no sign of the French guys....I give up for dinner

Irish Friends

The restaurants in Vang Vieng all have large blaring tvs showing "Friends" 24*7. They serve "Happy Shakes" and "Happy Pizza" (with a magic and potent ingredient) and the menus feature captions like "Give pizza a chance" and "Let's get sloshed". Caroline (with the broken leg) calls me from one of the restaurants and I join her for food. Later we meet Cian and Clare and head for more drinks.

( I meet Ross (North Carolina) and Kathleen (from Germany, Czech) as well as bumping into Tony again and Gill from Scotland. Introduced to three Irish girls from Loughrea Helena, Cloudagh and X)

We end the night at NamLaos nite club where teen boppers dance the night away to Thai and Lao sounds...






Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Riverside bunglows, Vang ViengRiverside bunglows, Vang Vieng
Riverside bunglows, Vang Vieng

Stephamu Vital? Anthony Bernuchon? My laundry wasn't here either..


Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0193s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb