Pakbeng to Luang Prabang (Day 6)


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Pakbeng
April 29th 2011
Published: June 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Up for breakfast and back on the boat for the day! I spent a lot of my time sitting on the front of the boat taking in the scenery! It was overcast all morning but it got sunny in the afternoon. Most people played cards all day on the boat. Ate another full lunch and I tried everything (which I later regretted).

Had a stop at a Cave that was cut out of a limestone cliff. Walked up the stairs to the cave and inside there were a bunch of Buddhist statues. It was so hot in this cave with no air movement so I found it hard to enjoy this as I thought I was gonna pass out. I quickly went back down the stairs and onto the boat where I thought for a second I might have heat stroke as I wasn’t feeling good but drank tons of water and felt a little better. Steve and a couple others felt the same so I convinced myself it must have just been the heat at that moment making me feel funny, but I was wrong. I felt nauxtious in my stomach the rest of the boat trip. I talked to Emmo for a bit getting to know a bit about his past work experiences before he was a guide, etc. We took tuk tuks from the boat to the hotel when we arrived in Luang Prabang.
I instantly needed the bathroom. I could hardly stand there for check in. For the rest of the night I unfortunately had terrible diarrhea and was throwing up in the bathtub at the same time. My lunch meal hadn’t digested so I had quite the mess to clean up as well. I slept from 7-10pm and watched a bit of the royal wedding as it was on live on tv while I was in bed. Was bummed I was so sick as I was missing out on bike rides of the town. At 11pm, I went down to the hotel lobby to buy a drink in desperation and sure enough our tour mates were all down in the lobby chilling out, using the free wi-fi or having drinks on the front step of the hotel. Everyone knew I was sick as my roomie had to tell everyone where I was so they were all so sweet and concerned asking how I was. Went back to sleep at 12 just hoping it would all be out of my system by the morning.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0216s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb