Luang Prabang - Frogger master


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
October 22nd 2006
Published: November 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Disgruntled WaterbuffoloDisgruntled WaterbuffoloDisgruntled Waterbuffolo

But very cute...
Very pretty colonial city. Bit surreal actually. This little French-influenced city in the middle of SE-Asia. Or as I've come to know SE Asia, 'Frogger'. I'm sure you all remember Frogger - the little handheld computer game where you hop across each lane of traffic. I think I'm definitely up in the high scores at this time.

I also ate frogs legs at this nice restaurant and a buffalo steak (I was craving a steak). The frogs legs were, an experience.

Just generally relaxed and chillaxed, playing s#@!head for breakfast / lunch / dinner. Love the Laos beer. It's awesome, or quality. I seem to be meeting more lovely Brits every moment and I'm coming to love the phrases. Quality, brilliant, clobber, propa, etc...

Suprisingly, a Cornetto icecream costs more than the Lao beer. 9,000 kip as opposed to 8,000 kip (US$1 = 10,000 kip).

The Lao people are very lovely too. The Lao kids are all very curious and love waving hello when you are cycling past - although some quickly scatter if you stop to talk. You don't feel quite the need to question every figure they give you when you are trying to negotiate
View from Pak Ou CavesView from Pak Ou CavesView from Pak Ou Caves

These caves had all these historical Buddhist artifacts. All very interesting but gets a bit "same, same but different" (a favourite SE-Asian saying)
a price. Which reminds me - neung, seung, saam, si, ha, hor, jzip, ba, gor, sip. My numbers. 1-10. An impressive feat for myself and a very funny one.

Esp when being taught by two Laos at the place I was staying at in Housieau (border town to Thailand - generally boring as bat) I was also acting as translator for this Brit who's accent made his english not quite so understandable for the Laos. It was also very funny when they started telling us how to say 'I love you' and 'Are you married?'. We assumed that they were interested in him, rather than me. For those who may not be in the know, Thai (and I'm assuming Laos people) are very tactile with people of the same gender. Bit odd when some female locals I was drinking with in Chiang Mai kept commenting on my legs.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

View from top of Luang PrabangView from top of Luang Prabang
View from top of Luang Prabang

All very nice and cool


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb