Elephant Riding


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
January 23rd 2010
Published: January 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Unfortunately, Valerie caught a slight bug (I want my mum!) so stayed in bed most of the day. A real shame as the afternoon elephant ride was a real treat. Perched atop the elephant on a park bench like structure we slowly trekked through the forest, along a stream, and into a lake. One slight scare as the elephant decided to sit down in the water but the driver luckily held things together and we remained dry!

Valerie - The people at the guest house have been really wonderful, providing me with assorted rehydration drinks after the rotten night I’ve had ... apparently there’s a 24 hour bug going round, so hopefully I should feel better tomorrow for our journey to the Laotian capital, Vientiane. In the meantime, I’m sticking to liquids!! John says that there is elephant riding in Cambodia, and he enjoyed it so much, he’ll come with me then!

The really annoying thing is that Claire had told me the market in Luang Prabang was the best place to shop - Friday night it was raining, so a bit of a wash-out, Saturday we arrived fairly late after the fashion show, so only had a chance to give everything a cursory glance, and I’d planned on some serious ethnic purchases for those I love on the Sunday night ... unfortunately it wasn’t to be ... but no doubt I’ll find something to buy elsewhere!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0671s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb