day 8


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
October 7th 2009
Published: October 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Once again another breakfast on the veranda started my day. Today was a ‘free day,’ there was no official plan for the day so Luang Pranbang was my oyster. A free day to me means ‘ a day out with a Canon DSLR.’ I love Luang Pranbang, the town itself is an UNESCO heritage sight to preserve the natural beauty of the colonial town. The people go along with their daily lives with no urgency. Walking down the street, I stopped for a moment to watch life go by. Focusing on the road I could see the girl on bike holding the handle bar with one hand an umbrella in the other or a woman on the motorbike with the sleeping baby on her shoulder. I have heard Laos being described as lazy and if watching the road is anything to go by, I agree. On the road no-one moves fast or has a reason to beep, it’s all a very easy pace with no rush. I snapped and snapped until to my battery died, which was just in the nick of time too cos the heat of the day got too much for me. What a better way to chill out than to go get a $6 hour long oil massage. The masseur was a man, which I at first was uncomfortable with, but he had to power to push all the tension out of my weary body, from carrying my 15kg backpack and 10kg day bag on and off buses, trains, planes and boats. I then treated myself to another nice treat in the restaurant next door - a deep pan pizza, just the way I liked it with extra cheese.

I went back to the guesthouse for the rest of the day to sit in the under my mossie net in the cool room, away from the sweating heat. I engrossed myself in my book until I drifted to sleep.



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb