Day 6


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
October 5th 2009
Published: October 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

From Pakbeng we re-boarded our boat for day two along the Mekong River. The weather was still as warm but less cloudy than the day before, so I spend most of it sitting up front on the deck chairs, reading my Nickolas Sparks book. After lunch we stopped at Pak Ou caves. Climbing 40 steps into the dark cave, once my eyes adjusted I could make out lots of small Buddha hidden within the cave. There was literally hundreds of Buddha’s ranging from 10cm to 1meter tall. What was fascinating was that the only access to the caves was by water. So all these Buddha’s had been placed here over the years by nearby villagers.

We arrived into Luang Prabang just in time for the local water festival. The local night market was cancelled for the night to make way for a colourful procession of handmade paper and bamboo boats that were lit by candlelight. Each boat was over 3meters long and was carried by local men. In between the colourful boats were groups of girls and women dresses up in traditional attire. They all made their way down the main street to the Mekong River where they set their boats free. On route we all bought a flower arrangement that had incense and a candle in the middle that one was suppose to set free in the river with a wish. By the time we got to the river it was full of hundreds of candles flowing along the Mekong. The sky that night was extra bright, not just because it was a full moon, but there were lots of sky lantern floating into the air. Part of this festival was also fireworks and bangers, which I was scared of. There were no regulations on who could buy or through the bangers, so lots of kids would through them in the street without any regard of who would be walking in to them. On one occasion I was so close to a banger that not only did I almost drop my camera with shock, but I could feel the vibration on my skin. I know realise that I must be a jumpy person, for every load noise I screeched and jumped out of my skin. Needless to say I was happy to go home early that night 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



12th October 2009

what a trip..did not see any pools on way to the falls..must have been dried up but did swim in the pools under the waterfall..no rules then about shoulders etc...the night market was magic , so9 gld youi are seeing it all..your next treip should be ethiopia..or have you been there..mums classes going very well ..adios ba

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb