First few days in Laos


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
June 22nd 2008
Published: June 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well a very big sabai-dii from Laos!!
This is my 3rd day here and I've finallly settled in. I have to admit that on arriving I was pretty freaked out but the people here are very nice( but not ridiculously nice like Thia people!). Found a really nice place to stay in Wat Khili area of Luang Prabang. Had to go for air con as the only thing that I'm struggling with here is the heat and humidity!! Anyone that knows me, knows that I am the sweatiest man in Ireland (if not the world) and so I can't tell if the Laos people are looking at me because I am a westerner or because they've never seen someone this sweaty.

Already managed to see alot of the Wat's/temple's in Luang probang(really easy to navigate around here) and also took a slowboat ride up the Mekong to see some worshiping caves and an elephant ride!! Have to say..I enjoyed the elephant ride but kinda felt bad for the elephant 😞
Planning on checking out the night life here tonight...seems to be some really nice bars and restaurants here...also Laos coffee is amazing and their local beer isn't too shabby too.

Anyway...just wanted to make a start on this whole blog thing and obviously just letting everyone know that I'm alive...Hope everyone is well and stay tuned for another blog, probably from Vientiane.

sabai-dii

Ross

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb