Slow Boat to Luang Prabang


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
April 3rd 2007
Published: April 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Slow Boats on the WaterSlow Boats on the WaterSlow Boats on the Water

Colorful turquiose boats parked in Huay Xai harbor
My intention was to go up north, but I had met such nice people at the Gibbon Experience that I decided to join them on the slow boat to Luang Prabang. From Huay Xia we made it down early to the boat to save seats. The word on the street was to not get there late so that you don't have to sit in the back with the noisy motor nor on the wooden bench seats with no cushions. Luckily, I was with Mumtaj who is an early riser and we were the third people on the boat. The other seven came at various times, three of which attached their motorbikes to the bow of the boat. They weren't kidding when they said "slow boat". It left at ten and was scheduled to get in at about five in the afternoon, so that gave us seven hours to kill.
The landscape along the riverbanks was sparce with massive rocks jutting out of the water. There were rolling hills, the occasional garden, fishermen and of course, the ubiquitous children playing in the water. We made one stop, so that some locals could board the boat to sell its passengers fruit,
Packed InPacked InPacked In

A view of the passengers on the slooooow boooooat
chips and other snacks.
We continued to snake down the river. I decided to break away from my group and meet some other people on the boat. There was a guy in the front playing the guitar. He was really funny and would change the words to Bob Marley songs so that they were more comical. I found out later on in the trip that he has written a couple of travel books, mostly about himself. I read the first one he wrote in which he traveled from England to India overland, with no money, only hitch-hiking (hence his name Tom Thumb). Twelve years later, he is still on the road and is able to support himself through writing.
Only four more hours to go. What to do? Our group played a few games of poker, this time using rubber bands as currency (with knot 10 points, without knot 5). I listened to music, read and sat still while a Phillipino artist graciously sketched a picture of me in my journal. We had the pleasant surprise of actually arriving in Pak Beng, the small half way point town where we would be spending one night, on schedules time.
Jutting Rock LandscapeJutting Rock LandscapeJutting Rock Landscape

A common sight from the banks of the river
That night we settled into our rooms and ate dinner at a nice candle lit restaurant across the road. I thought they had put the candles out for the ambience, but soon realized there was no electricity in the town.
The next morning we were up and heading to the boat, this time at eight. Our boat on the second day had a section of seats that looked as if they had been taken out of cars. The ride was pleasurable but after the sixth hour I was ready to reach Luang Prabang and use my legs again as a land animal should.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Snack SellersSnack Sellers
Snack Sellers

Local venders awaiting the slow boats to sell their goods.
David and JohanDavid and Johan
David and Johan

Two originals of the Gibbon Experience
Children of the ShoresChildren of the Shores
Children of the Shores

Laos children playing in the river\'s waters.
Big HugBig Hug
Big Hug

Me giving Mumtaj a one of my bear hugs.


11th April 2007

My journalistic Daughter
Emily, I love the text that goes along with your pictures, it is so poetic. Please keep the pictures and information coming. Every single day I go to your website to see if there is something new. I love being able to see pictures of you. I love you, miss you, envy you; you scare me to death at times. Love, Your Mamma Dramma

Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 14; qc: 68; dbt: 0.1032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb