Heuanchan, the moon house for heritage information


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
March 13th 2007
Published: March 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I didn't have a plan to visit Luang Praban when I started my trip last January. I met a man in Jakarta who told me about Heuanchan Heritage Information Center, that pushed me to go to Luang Prabang.

Very much different from Chengmai in Thai, Luang Prabang is such a beautiful place with fascinating natural environment and well preserved colonial architecture of last century as well as temples and houses on stilts. It is amazing to know in Heuanchan that the habitants are still building their house in wood, but not all, though. Food is nice. Quiet after 10pm and safe to walk back guesthouse alone midnight. I believe Luang Prabang is a successful case of conservation stimulating the local economy greatly.

I like here very much and I decided to extend my stay here for two weeks and come back for the new year festival after visiting Yunnan.

Heuanchan Heritage Information Center was bit difficult to find, though it is in the middle of the town. In a cool environs, back of a temple and beside the beautiful traditional wooden house, it is nice to spend some time at Heuanchan browsing the fantastic database of architecture and ponds of the site. Shopgirls are very friendly. Mr.Yushi Kawagichi from Tokyo Tech explained me a hard luck storys on conservation of the town since it became a World Heritage.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

IT team managing HeuanchanIT team managing Heuanchan
IT team managing Heuanchan

They are using Linux


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb