Scootering around Thakhet


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » South » Tha Khaek
December 26th 2010
Published: December 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I spent x-mas day in Thakhet - using the internet, shopping for clothes (found some great shorts) and generally hanging out at cafes and the guest house. The evening was spent around a pit fire at the guest house, chatting with other travelers. An enjoyable day all around!

On the 26th, I decided to rent a motorbike and try to travel to the Konglor cave, a distance of more than 160 km one way. Although they call them motorbikes they are more scooters - no clutch and 4 gears. Although the speedometer maxs out at 160 km/hr, I only managed to wind it up to 90 km - maybe my own fear stopped me? Anyway, it was a cute red bike with green spokes!

It had rained the evening before and there was a strong cool wind blowing - I forgot how cold it gets riding, even at 60 km/hr. I managed to ride out 100km but after reaching a high plateau and having the road turn from pavement to dirt track, I decided to turn back.

It was enjoyable riding - cattle and goats along and on the road, children kicking the ball around on a driveway, the twisting climbing highway, roadside temples, limestone rocks in fields and calm rivers and small lakes were all on view.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.227s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1748s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb