The adventerous South


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » South » Si Phan Don
February 16th 2007
Published: February 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We had flown from LP to Pakse, but didn’t feel the place much, so made arrangements to get to Sipandon the next morning. My Mum wanted to see the largest waterfall in South-East-Asia, but we hadn’t got enough time to go on a tour. We were lucky and met someone who hocked us up with someone in Ban Nakasang to arrange everything. I talked to him on the phone and the next morning we took a songtaow to a far off (guest) house where we were supposed to meet. No one there, apart from a Lao “customer” who was helpful in the beginning, but chose to lock himself up in a room with a girl soon after (11am!). So we were left in the middle of nowhere (in a village brothel?!?). I had taken the phone number, but it was answered by a girl who told us the man running the place was in Vientiane for a couple of days.
I told my Mum not to worry, I would take care of the situation. And I started walking without direction or clue.
But as anything is possible in Asia it worked out just fine. I found a guy who had a bike and a friend and went to pick up my Mum. She looked a little concerned in the beginning, but the guys put on the helmets (with ”Passenger Service” handwritten on) and took us and the luggage to the waterfall and back further to Don Khon.
We found a nice place with an outside toilet and cold water showers for 4$ and enjoyed the peaceful South of Lao.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb