Do my parents need to tell me something...?!


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » South » Pakxe
December 15th 2008
Published: December 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We've only been in Laos for nearly three weeks but i feel like i really belong.... could this be my spiritual home or was the milkman a little darker and shorter than i recall?

Top five reasons why I was born (to be) Lao

1. My dancing fits. Village disco at Hmong New Year and we're ALL doing the stiff chicken with the stuck out bottom

2. Unbelievably I'm ok and can work with 'Lao time'. A bus at 8am means any time from twenty five to eight to anything in the eighth hour. It makes sense and it genuinely doesn't bother me (really!!)

3. The humour fits. Funnies about monster tuk-tuks, wild jungle rattan to make chairs WITHOUT the spikes, would never work at 'home', but here they go down a storm. Especially when hand gestures and vocals are added

4. We're all two-beer-queers

5. I'm perfectly happy to spend all day waving, grinning and calling out 'Sab-bai-dee' ... and wave, smile and call out in return if they get in there first...

On the contrary we established very quickly that Helen isn't at all Lao but in fact some beautiful amazonian that the men all fall in love with immediately (think it's also to do with their eye level!).

Advertisement



19th December 2008

Ah Top Fives
Reminds me of many an afternoon wasted in The Sceptic, thanks for rekindling my dear ol'fellow. Enjoy Christmas and New Year x

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb