The New Year Continues


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » South » Pakxe
April 13th 2008
Published: May 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

[youtube=H1fkEigrLGI]
This Means WarThis Means WarThis Means War

Armed with water pistols, no man or child was safe!!
I had a few hour lay over in Pakse on our journey from the Four Thousand Islands to Vientienne. I was disappointed to read in the Lonely Planet that there was not much going on in Pakse, that it was a sleepy town and quite boring. They couldn't have got it more wrong, or perhaps they haven't been there for the New Years celebrations.

There were a few interesting Watts and a river to check out, so off I went on my merry way. Within minutes I was soaked to the bone. I didn't mind, it was a sweltering hot day and the cool water was a welcome refreshment. I managed to get most of the sites in and even saw some monkies before the real party swung into action.

I was just walking along the riverside when a bunch of Laos guys beckoned me over. They threw water all over me, wiped baby powder on my face and gave me some Beer Laos. It was great. Spent some time with them, but when they started getting into whether I was married or not, thought that was my time to make a swift exit.

After that I headed
GatewayGatewayGateway

I had a look at the Watt from afar as there were loads of locals paying their respects for the New Years. Felt like I would be intruding going in.
to the main street where full scale warfare had broken out, young, old, locals and tourists were all getting stuck in! I found one of my friends in an Indian restaurant. They gave us some killer water pistols and had a tap outside that was just kept running for hours. You would just soak people on the back of mopeds/pick-up trucks as they drove past. Felt like a little kid again, never have I been so wholesomely entertained in my adulthood. No alcohol involved, just pure unadulterated fun, the Laos people really know how to do it.

Just love the spirit of the Laos people. They are so friendly, generous and happy. They welcome you with open arms...if they don't know you, they want to get to know you. It is what I imagine Ireland being like in the good old days.







Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The GangThe Gang
The Gang

I was invited to join some Laos guys in their New Years Celebration. Beer Laos was flowing!
CablesCables
Cables

Like the way the the cables criss cross over the monument.
Random MonkeysRandom Monkeys
Random Monkeys

They were just in a normal garden that I happened to walk past.
The RiverThe River
The River

Pakse had some pretty little features, really liked the way the whole town was surrounded by water.


Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb